Apps on the SD card, but WITHOUT rooting, possible?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Tink

    Tink Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, first post so be gentle ;)


    Just got a G1 and LOVE it, apart from the storage issues... ;)

    Just wondering if it was possible to save apps to the SD card without rooting it? Only had the phone 4 days so dont want too mess about with it too much just yet.

    cheers in advance!

    Tink.
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    You can save anyfile you have access to ...to the SDcard ... you will not be able to run apps from the sdcard without a linux ext partitioned usb drive and root access ...
     
  3. Tink

    Tink Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I thought. Worth an ask though! What's the best SD card for rooting? I've got an 8gb one in at the moment, think it's fuji?

    Also, how would I save apps to sd to install from later (without wifi access or so)?
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    If it is a Class 6 then you have a good match ... Recommend if you go rooted and apps2SD that you use Class 6 and the 8GB is ideal size .. with say 800MB going to an Ext3 partition and the balance to the SD as FAT32
     
  5. golfpedaler

    golfpedaler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was apprehensive about rooting...but it's pretty easy if you have any experience with computers. Believe me it's worth...I have any 8gb SD card and have 87 apps running from it. The rooting itself improved my G1's performance. You won't regret it.....:D
     
  6. Tink

    Tink Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool.

    How do i tell if my SD card is 'class 6'?

    (what even IS class 6?)
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Look at the Card ... if you dont see a small circle of contained number 2,4,6 then it is most likely a class 2, Class 6 or Class 6 will normally as (4) or (6)
     
  8. Tink

    Tink Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a look, its a sandisk class 2.

    Whats the difference between the classes?

    Also, any links to a good retailer with 8gb class 6 cards (in the UK)?

    Failing that, would a class 2 be ok for rooting, or just unaceptable?

    Cheers, Tink.
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    classes denote write speed ... 2 slowest, 6 fastest...

    I am US so best to just google SDHC mini-SD class 6 ...
    check Amazon, Tiger ...
     
  10. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    One thing I did do was use ASTRO to back up my apps to the SD card and then uninstall the ones I don't need as much from the device to free up space. I can then re-install them as needed.

    This worked great for me when I had to do a factory reset. A friend asked me about this for her G1 and before I let Tmobile tell her to factory reset I actually went and got ASTRO, backer her up, then we had all her apps for restore purposes.

    One HUGE caveat to this method. Apps installed off the SD card in this manner are not tracked by the Market app for notifications of updates. It took me a few weeks to figure out why, and then I was forced to go and manually update them one by one, by searching the market for the app, and clicking install which in all cases just overwrote the version I had even if it was the same version.

    Jim might be able to confirm though if this method could be avoided with aTrackdog..which I suspect it might.
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Definately use aTractDog ... if you use Astro and even if you are rooted and have Apps2SD ... the Market tracker doesnt complete the job ...especially if you have apps from third parties (non-market apps) ...
     
  12. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    I did notice that the Market app does a pretty good job (and no extra space) for apps that come just from the market. For those non-rooted phones though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...