apps taking up more space than necessary


Last Updated:

  1. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I noticed that my internal space was getting low, so i decided to clear some cache and data, however, I realized that some of my apps are actually taking up more space than they're supposed to use!?

    For example, my NFL app is utilizing 6.78mb (should be 3.75mb), Google Maps is 7.36mb (should be 4.54mb), Facebook 3.72mb (should be 1.97mb).

    Again, this isn't data or cache, just the size of the app being displayed much higher (nearly twice) than it should be. It's happening for a lot of my applications.

    Anyone else experience this?

    I'm running Aloysius v12 and have installed the zip file so all the Verizon apps are displayed in the market.

    Thanks!

    edit: On a side note, I was manually linking some of my phone contacts with Facebook via HTC Sense Facebook and noticed that some of my friends are listed 4 times (these are facebook profiles to choose from via HTC Sense FB)!! This doesn't hold true for all of my friends, but about the first 20 alphabetically. This is wasted space as well. Ugh.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Did you check those "should be" sizes in adb shell?

    I believe it's:

    #cd system
    #cd app
    #ls -l
     
  3. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    No, I'm not familiar with all this "adb" talk I've seen. Haha. I just looked at what the apps are listed as in the market (and also what they were when I was running stock Sense 2.1).

    edit: Maybe I'll try another ROM like Evil Eris or Sense-able and see if this happens. I've been on the fence about trying another one anyway. Just hate the tedious process of setting everything up again. :)
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    It doesn't matter which ROM is running the apps, application sizes compressed and/or pre-installed are nearly always going to be smaller than when unpacked and installed, often by 80% or more, as your posted numbers show.
     
  5. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I must say, after installing the Sensa-able ROM, i have 100+ mb of internal memory free!! I only had 41mb free before! LOL

    Same apps installed as I had with Aloysius.

    The problem may have been in part with the contacts. Before they took up over 8mb of space. Now they only use 2mb. Haha.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Well, that's 6Mb of the 59Mb you gained. ;)
     
  7. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Haha! Yeah, there are several showing up differently, but didn't feel the need to list them.

    Great success!! I guess this rooting thing is a lot of trial & error.

    :)
     
  8. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    On a related note, my wife was complaining yesterday that she got the "low space" error on her phone even though she only has 20 or so applications installed. (Note: She is not rooted and doesn't want to be.) Anyway, I looked at her application sizes, and none of them had a large cache that needed to be cleared, but I did notice that com.htc.socialnetwork.provider had 22MB of data! Sure enough, in the "updates" screen of the People app, you could scroll down through months and months of Facebook updates, and there's no way to clear them. Even removing and re-adding the Facebook for HTC Sense account doesn't clear that data. So we manually cleared the data, then removed and re-added the Facebook for HTC Sense account (since the token had to be reset in com.htc.socialnetwork.provider). Now she has free space again and her People app is running much more smoothly.
     
  9. ppbb

    ppbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    6
    kind of related questiuon. in amons ra recovery screen there is an option for "other"
    click this and you get options for transferring apps and dalvik to sd card. clicked this and it started something, said it was moving tothe sd card. but after reboot, my internal memory was still same.

    is this "other" selection always there or was it added after my many attempts at getting apps2sd working?
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Facebook. :rolleyes:

    Sorry.
     
  11. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    How did you manually clear the data? This would be a good tip to know. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...