Apps that download data


Last Updated:

  1. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a very limited data plan on my contract so i need to cancel any unnecessary data downloads. i have stopped auto refresh on the weather app, is there any others i need to cancel.

    thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Why not just turn of mobile network until you need it?
     
  3. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    is that the "enable always-on mobile data" option..cheers for the help
     
  4. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you hold down the power but right at the bottom it says;

    Mobile Network
    Connect to Internet is ON

    If you turn it off I think that might help you?
     
  5. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    fantastic cheers for that, does it come back on if turn the browser on?or do i need to do it manually.
     
  6. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    No worries, you need to turn it on and off manually. You will see a little icon at the top when it is on and it disappears when it is off.
     
  7. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for that
     
  8. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    There is a toggle widget just so you know.
     
  9. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is that please?as you can tell im new to all this :rolleyes:
     
  10. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Press the plus button.
    HTC widget.
    Settings.
    Mobile Network.
     
  11. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    woah fantastic, loving it!! cheers mate
     
  12. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    instead of starting a new thread i will ask here. does the hero have a compass built in?when i googled it i got very little info about it. if yes how do i access it, also my original rom had google maps but i put a new one in (2.2 modaco i think?) and i it doesnt have it.so i downloaded google maps from the market but it seems somewhat stripped down.i am sure the original had birds eye views etc unless im thinkin of something else
     
  13. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not think the hero has a build in compass, you would have to download a compass app from the market and google maps on my phone has a birds eye view, as in looking straight down if thats what you mean.
     
  14. swainclubber

    swainclubber Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    no it is at an angle, 3d so to speak. i think bing provide the image.but my google maps doesnt show this!! unless it is an app orange provided
     

Share This Page

Loading...