Apps to SD Internal Memory question.


Last Updated:

  1. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.) Model Number ? Android Dev Phone 1
    2.) Firmware Version ? 1.5
    3.) Baseband Version ? 62.50s.20.17H_2.22.26I
    4.) Kernel Version ? 2.6.27-00392-g8312baf jesusfreke@androidDev)
    5.) Build Number ? dream_devphone-userdebug 1.5 CRB21 147201 test-keys

    Also do you have a T-Mobile Data plan on your
    PayAsYouGo or FlexPay Plan? Not sure. I pay a flat rate on my unlimited data plan.

    Carrier ? T-mo

    Country you are using your phone in ? US

    Is the phone SIM registered in T-Mobile as the Correct phone?
    Yes

    Cupcake 1.5 + Radio
    Running Apps to SD.


    I'm running AppsToSD with this procedure http://www.coolpstutsite.com/Other_Tutorials.html

    with a 8 gb class 4 card. I created a 500 mb EX2 partition.

    Using AppsToSD, I moved all applications, but not the cache, as I have been advised that the class 4 sd could have slowdown issues moving the cache as well. I have about 45 apps on the phone. The available internal memory is sitting at 16 mb available.

    Does this sound about right? It seems low to me.
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Go to your browser and clear its cache ... Dalvik-Cache recovers the most memory
     
  3. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    It jumped to 34 mb. Thanks. Does that sound about right? For some reason, I thought I would have much more memory available with saving the apps to sd.
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    That is reasonable I got like 63MB but I moved both the Apps and the Dalvik-Cache
     
  5. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I might ask, what class card are you using?
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Currently using a Class 4 4GB waiting for a good price on a 8 or 16GB class 6 .... it will make a difference ...
     
  7. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen it recommended not to move the Dalvik-Cache without a class 6. Have you had any issues with moving the d cache?

    It seems that I will be ok since I've been reading that the Dalvik-Cache consumes over 30 mb of internal memory and that pretty much adds up to what I have used.

    Thanks again as always.
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I have no had any problems... there of course would be an improvement if had a class 6 ... but what I gain in OS memory makes up for many memory caching times without the free ROM space in the phone ...
     
  9. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] Took me awhile to get what you were saying.

    So let me ask you one last question. Where can I go to see exactly how much mem I am eating up with Dalvik-Cache?
     
  10. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    You cant .... not that I know anyway ....
     
  11. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. x3haloed

    x3haloed Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to see how much space your dalvik-cache folder is using, open the terminal emulator app, and switch to the root user:
    Code (Text):
    1. $ su
    tap "allow" when prompted
    Code (Text):
    1. # du -s -h /data/dalvik-cache/
    note: all commands are case sensitive, "$" and "#" denote a prompt, do not type those characters.
     
  13. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is awesome!!! Thanks!

    27.7 mb d-cache used.
     
  14. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
  16. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brain Fart!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...