Apps won't downloadSupport

Last Updated:

1. Overtrick

Overtrick New Member This Topic's Starter

Firstly, I am new here, so apologies if this has been asked a million times and is a massive known issue or whatever. I had quite a good look but couldn't find any solutions.

Anyway, after having an iPhone for a long time, I upgraded my contract and got an HTC Desire today. So far I am loving it, however, one thing is annoying me. I go to the Android Market and try to download apps, and it just stays on the 'Starting Download' screen forever, and just doesn't download. I have tried Twitter, Shazam, and a couple of themes, none of them work.

I read about the Google account things, and I think I have an account on my phone but I honestly don't know how to switch to gmail and all that, this is my first Android phone and I am still learning about it!

Any help is appreciated, thanks :)

Advertisement
  2. SUroot

SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

You can't download anything without a gmail googlemail account. You can't even browse the apps, so you must have set one up when you went through the phone set up.

Is it googlemail or gmail.com?

Sometimes, if you go into menu>settings>applications>manage applications>market

Clear cache, this resolves download problems.

3. Overtrick

Tried clearing the cache, and then downloading something, but it still just says 'Starting Download', so that didn't work, I think.

On the Googlemail issue, it is definitely a googlemail account, as I haven't seen gmail mentioned on my phone since I got it. I read somewhere that switching between the two may help, but like I said in my original post, I don't even know how to do that.

Thanks!

4. SUroot

The issue can be caused by the switch from googlemail to gmail, so if you haven't done that it isn't an issue right now.

Have you removed the battery for 15 seconds and tested it again after that?

Also, you can browse the internet ok?

5. Overtrick