Apps2SD after Modaco R6 root?


Last Updated:

  1. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Advertisement
  2. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    yeah i have done that guide but why did you stop half way through to do Lekky's guide? Why not just continue with Modaco and flash one of their ROMs?
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I followed the modaco guide from start to finish and got one of their roms. then i wanted to add apps2sd so used lekky's guide for that. I finished modaco guide and started lekky's half way through when he does the apps2sd bit

    I just reflashed today and found another guide for apps2sd in the same r6 thread, page 45...

    Bricked AGAIN!!!

    Starting to loose my patience now. :(
     
  4. ManOfSteal

    ManOfSteal Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    SUroot likes this.
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Wicked, I'll have a look. Thanks.

    Edit> dumb question, but it mentions using a custom recovery image. I assume thats what I am using, although it looks different to the custom one on teh Hero I rooted as it doesnt have a nandroid option.

    Do I just apply it in the same way as I applied the R6?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    No is the answer. I'll stick with the generic then. Its alright having these great devs cooking up these roms, but the threads are never self explanatory and the links in them to further info often take you somewhere that doesn't exist.
     
  7. ManOfSteal

    ManOfSteal Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    Get the R6 up and running again, and then install ROM Manager. Connect the phone to the PC and transfer the r3.1 ROM to the card. Now in ROM Manager select that ROM from the card and select the Reboot into Recovery. You can then make the Nandroid backup, then flash the new ROM.
     
    lekky and SUroot like this.
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Fantastic, thank you very much. Worked like a charm. Also, I didn't do a wipe so it has retained my settings from r6.

    Thank you very much again. I am a happy bunny.
     
  9. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    @DanFrance, just in case you are still wondering, the Custom Recovery Image the R6 guide talks about is not simply rooting, its is the "Fake Flash" application they talk about which basically does a similar job to rebooting into recovery via ROM Manager.

    Personally, from my experience, i would recommend sticking to Modaco if you have started with them or sticking with Lekky if you started with him, both are brilliant methods of rooting and flashing new roms but switching between the two can sometimes be difficult.
     
    SUroot likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Thanks Zoidy. I just wasn't sure if the push files used in the r6 guide were patching recovery or not. When I modaco'd the hero a while back, the guide i used patched the recovery image, so thought maybe this had.

    I do like modaco though so I will stick with that.
     
  11. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    me too, i'm waiting for them to bring the Jul 14th rom to the open market as i don't have a adfree or pro subscription so cant use the online kitchen.
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    How much is it? Because it could definitely be worth it. Getting loads of rubbish removed that you dont want or use... Custom, personalized rom.

    Whats the Jul 14th ROM?
     
  13. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9
    It aint much really, i'm just a huge cheapskate! I think adfee (which is cheaper than Pro) is like $29.99 for a year or something. But you're right, the Modaco ROM's are brilliant, especially as you say they remove loads of rubbish and replace with some brilliant stuff.

    The July 14th i referred to is basically just a thread but its their latest rom they are working on, you can view more here: 15/Jul r4 WIP refresh - MoDaCo Custom ROM for HTC Desire with Online Kitchen - Froyo with Sense - Android @ MoDaCo
     
    SUroot likes this.
  14. Papex

    Papex Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the difference between a2sd and a2sd+ on the modaco rom? I've seen the short description but I don't know what it actually means.

    What are the pris and cons?
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but i think..

    a2sd+ is the apps2sd you get when you root. A2sd is the froyo google implementation. a2sd+ is better as the froyo relies on the developer to code into the app that it can be stored on the sd card.
     
  16. ManOfSteal

    ManOfSteal Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    a2sd just moves the apps, while a2sd+ also moves the dalvik cache.

    The Froyo implementation is pretty lame (only moves apps if allowed by creator) and is best ignored ;)

    See here:
    Froyo vs A2SD vs A2SD+ - Android @ MoDaCo
     
  17. zoidy84

    zoidy84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    9

Share This Page

Loading...