Apps2sd / creating space


Last Updated:

  1. freddyferret

    freddyferret Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen some people say that using apps2sd is not a good idea. I'm a noob to this stuff. I just rooted my Sprint Hero and am using Damage Control v2.09.01 which is great. The problem is, I had a "low on space" message pop up almost right away.

    I got rid of a couple of apps that I really didn't use, and it helped for a couple of days, then it came back. I ended up deleting some stuff I don't use daily but would like to keep.

    I have a 16gb card in the phone. Should I use apps2sd or is there another/better way to get space back? It says I only have a little over 16mb free on the phone itself right now.

    I want to be able to add more apps without the low on space message but I don't want to use apps2sd if there's a better way. Please help a noob out.
     

    Advertisement
  2. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    You should probably clear your cache. How many apps do you have on the phone?
     
  3. freddyferret

    freddyferret Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 74 apps on the phone. I tried going to settings to find the clear cache option but I didn't see it. It's probably in one of the Damage Control apps, I'll keep looking.
     
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I has been widely mentioned that a Hero with around 70 or so apps could present many issues...at least with 1.5. I'm not sure if this is still the case with 2.1.

    You can clear cache by: menu/settings/applications/manage applications. Give it a minute or two to load, then hit the hard button menu, then select sort by size. You can then go thru the list and clear cache. Or, as you are rooted, get the free app "CacheCleaner" from the market.
     
  5. freddyferret

    freddyferret Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I've seen the posts about a max of 70 apps. I really haven't had big issues with the phone operating. It's fast, the only issue I've had with that since going to 2.1 has been with GPS. Sometimes Google Maps (and Foursquare) won't show my current location. It will show where I was 30 minutes ago. I'll refresh and it will pick it up.

    The only real issue I'm having is lack of space. I was going to go with apps2sd but I wanted to see if there was a better way to free up space. With a 16gb SD card I know I can load tons of stuff. I'll get the CacheCleaner app and use that. But I still want to be able to add a few more apps, so I guess I'll try apps2sd. I still haven't seen anyone tell me why it's a bad idea. I've just seen some threads in different forums that said it's not the best.
     
  6. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    ok... here's why. you'll increase the read/writes on the SD card. this will lead to premature failure of the card. when the card fails, you lose all apps. you will then end up with constant force closes. if you also move the davlik cache to the sd card in order to get even more free space and the SD card fails, you'll be stuck with running the RUU to get it back. if you partition the SD card for the ext2 partition and don;t convert the ext2 to ext 3 you could end up with a useless phone on a normal reboot as it would lose all apps and again end up with non-stop force closes. ext3 is there to prevent that by providing journaling

    now... there ya have it.. the dirt on why apps2sd is bad.

    of course, your SD card might not fail for 2 years.. or maybe it'll fail tomorrow.. it all depends on the card.... if you bought a cheap 16gb card off of ebay or the internet, then I personally wouldn't risk it. only buy good card from a reputable store (not on the internet). there are a LOT of fake Sandisk cards out there, most are made with facory rejected chips that are simply rebranded (complete with a real (fake) certificate of authenticity) and come straight from China...

    if you HAVE to have that many apps (I have personally never seen a real need for more than 30 at most but that's just me), then give apps2sd a shot.. at least now you know the risk involved.. oh yeah.. apps2sd is native in Froyo without the need for a ext partition. just something to look forward too
     
    ProEJockey and freddyferret like this.
  7. freddyferret

    freddyferret Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that helps. What if I don't move the cache and don't move all of the apps? Or is it an all or nothing thing? Could I just put the apps on the card that I don't use daily?

    I ran the CacheCleaner app and it only gave me 504k back. I could get rid of some of the apps like Friend Stream and Gallery if I knew how. But they don't come up with the Uninstaller app and if I go to Manage Apps I can't remove them there either. I don't think that would give me a lot more space, but it would help.

    If I could just move some apps over then I would be willing to give it a shot. Otherwise I don't know. I don't want to end up with a big mess if the card dies.
     
  8. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    yeah... with apps2sd it's either move all apps... or all apps and davlik.. no middle ground. The fear of having a brick when I really need a working phone (emergency situation) is what keeps me from using app2sd (that and well.. I only have 30 apps loaded. )
     
  9. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    You don't have to move the davlik cache. I don't and I use apps2sd just fine. There is an app called Titanium Backup in both free and donate versions and either one will back up all of your apps. If your SD card does fail, you can use TB to restore all of your apps. If you donate $3.99 (or more) to the developer, you get the ability to resore all apps with one tap. This is an awesome feature, and one reason why I love Titanium Backup. Of course, to be safe and make use of TB if your card does fail, you need to copy the TB file folder on your SD card (after running a backup) to your computer. I backup all of my files from my SD card to my computer once in awhile just in case of SD card failure. I add more music once a week or so, so I want to back that folder up in any event so I don't have to do all of that over if my card goes tits up. (I have a 16GB card too)

    You can also backup your apps with Astro, but you will have to restore any apps through the backed up market links one by one, just like using the free version of TB.

    All in all, I like using app2sd and as long as you don't move your davlik cache and you use Titanium Backup for your apps and copy your TB files to your computer for safety, I see no issue with using app2sd. It will give you back some space for your internal memory but you will still notice small incremental decreases in your internal memory because any apps added to your phone will create internal links to run from the SD card, as well as needs for the cache. But you can always clear the cache with a free cache cleaner.
     
  10. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    copying a backup is always a good thing..... now.. take your 16gb card out and put in a different card that has been formatted to have no data on it.. let me know if you can download anything from the market (like titanium backup) in order to restore those backed up apps.. or, do you get non-stop force closes not allowing you to even use the phone? backups are only as good as the tested and proven restore in the event of a failure.
     
  11. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Uh-oh.
    I've been running a2sd with cache on the SD, and now I am concerned.

    How do you move the cache back to INT memory?

    Thanks!
     
  12. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    no idea... other than wiping and reflashing the rom...
     
  13. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    I recently upgraded to my 16GB card from an 8GB card, so I just went through what you are suggesting. I had some issues at first, but not because of the card or Titanium Backup. It was because I needed to reflash the ROM (Zen) after I partitioned the SD card. After partitioning the card and reflashing the ROM, I copied all of the files I had saved on my computer from my 8GB card to my new 16GB card. I downloaded TB again and it recognized I was a donor because of the file on my SD card. Then I simply tapped once to restore all of my apps and system data. A few minutes later and I was done.
     
  14. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually, I think I found that you use the command apps2sd nocache within adb.
     
  15. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    ahhh... there ya go... you had to reflash the rom... now... had the SD card failed while not at home... the phone is useless.. which is my whole point.. I think apps2sd is a good idea.. and glad to see it in Froyo (on FAT32).. and as long as you know the risks and have a backup plan (which you do) then go for it.. the OP had asked what the risks were, now they know
     
  16. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    will that move it back? or is that just to make sure it doesn't move to begin with?
     
  17. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm pretty sure it moves it back. See this post.

    In that same thread, I posted your concern and received a good response. See this post.

    Since I have a Class 6 card, I'm going to leave it on my SD, but will do a Titanium Backup (and copy to my PC) ASAP!
     
  18. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    I can certainly see avoiding apps2sd for fear of all this possible mayhem.
    The problem with the Hero is the severely limited on board mem. When you start running out (even before you get the low memory notification) the whole device starts to hurt in a very bad way. To the point where it won't even notify you of text messages and phone calls.
    I've been running Fresh 2.1.1 for a couple months without apps2sd enabled. It was great at first, but as I started running out of memory things slowed down and I started having all kinds of problems with the thing just refusing to do the simplest tasks. I kept getting the low mem notification and I'd remove some apps, clear caches all the time and before long I'd get the notification again.
    About two weeks ago I took the time to back up my half full 16gig sd card (mostly music I didn't want to have to move; hence not enabling apps2sd before) and format it with the partition.
    It's been like a new phone. I went from 14mb free in mem to 40 and it's running like new.

    Point is, for all the pitfalls of apps2sd, I think it's a necessary evil for the Hero. A phone that most people who care to go to such lengths, will abandon before a card of any quality can fail.
    Just my opinion.
     
  19. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    geeeez... how many apps did you install on 2.1.1 before getting low mem warnings? I had over 100mb free when I ran that one..
     
  20. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm up around the 70 mark now. Was probably in the 60's already by then.
    I always assumed it was the launcher and replacement widgets I was running that ate up a bunch of space.
    I don't use Sense, so I'm pretty stoked to try out the new Cyanogen and ditch it entirely.
     
  21. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    It just so happens that I carry a new, spare SD card for my phone at all times. And even a backup for that backup. Plus, every time I find a wi-fi hotspot when away from home or office, I take a moment to use the wi-fi and link up my files with NASA, which then uploads my files to 12 satellites and the ISS, so my files are available at all times anywhere I go.

    Your doomsday scenario doesn't skeer me! [​IMG]
     
  22. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    I don't know... the ISS could fall out of orbit taking all 12 satellites with it on the way down crashing them into NORAD (in case you copied them there as well) and into both Houston and Cape Canaveral.. don't forget that the motion of taking that spare SD card out of your back pocket will probably generate enough static electricity to render it useless :D
     
  23. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    btw... my paranoia for file security/fail safe readiness comes from my job dealing with speech servers in hospitals.. losing a single file can get ya canned...
     
  24. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Love it.
     
  25. doneve141

    doneve141 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    This thread is about a month old but I thought I would chime in on the potential of card failure. I have been running apps2sd for around 6 months. My card failed and corrupted the Android system. My phone wouldn't boot into Android. Luckily I could get into the recovery. With a different sd card I booted into Fresh. I had tried a factory wipe, which unknown to me took, and I had to reset up my phone as all of my nandroids were gone with the card. The card is trash. Windows sees it, sees the files but wont copy or format the card. I even tried to use a Panisonic SD formating tool of the net. No luck.
    I feel lucky that I have my phone back and I had another sd card laying around. I lost my 8 gig and now have a 2 gig card. I am still feeling good about things. I liked apps2sd but have used it since before going to the 2.1 updated roms. I guess I will find out now weather it was all that by not using it for a while.
    Just sharing with the masses as I have used this and other forums for research with my phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...