Apps2sd not working


Last Updated:

  1. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi all.

    I've tried to get apps2sd working on my phone. In fact, I flashed my rom all over again to get it working, as I couldn't be bothered to manually uninstall everything on my phone.

    I flashed the MoDaCo r5 rom (the most recent on, based on the 2.1 GSM build). I then went into the recovery menu. created the ext2 partition and upgraded it to an ext3 partiton, as per the instructions.

    I've installed a load of applications, I see the phone memory has gone down to a fraction over 40mb remaining. So, I reboot the phone (as I'm aware that the apps transfer over to the memory card during the reboot), and when I turn it back on, the internal memory remains at a fraction over 40mb.

    Have I missed something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    From your description it should have worked. I know first-hand that creating the EXT partition on an existing ROM allowed apps to transfer automatically on reboot, albeit a long time ago with one of the early 1.5-based MCR builds.

    Partitioning from recovery will have created the partitions in the correct order, so that can't be an issue. Try rebooting into recovery, wiping the dalvik-cache and then rebooting normally.

    If you have the SDK installed on your PC, connect the handset and in a command prompt window type "adb shell df -h". The result returned should contain a line similar to
    "/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 915.6M 50.0M 816.7M 6% /system/sd /dev/block/vold/179:1"
    if Apps2sd has enabled correctly. The all-important part is in bold.
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  3. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks for the reply. I've typed in what you said, but I get the following message:

    'adb' is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    I do have the SDK installed. Can't remember why I installed it now (possibly for making the gold card), but it's there. In my computer, the filepath for it is C:\android\android-sdk-windows.

    Is there something else I need to type in before I type in the command? Sorry for being a bit thick, but command prompt is not my strong area when it comes to computers!

    Also, what USB mode should I have my phone set to? Charge only, disk drive or HTC sync?
     
  4. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    I've just wiped the dalvik cache as you suggested, but very little has changed. My internal memory remaining has gone up slightly to just over 43MB, but I expected to have at least double that if apps2sd was working.
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    You have to execute the command from the folder it resides in. You'll have to "cd \" then "cd android\android-sdk-windows" before running the command.

    Just leave it on "charge only".
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  6. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    This is what I got:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    No /system/sd = no apps2SD :(

    From reading the MCR 2.1 thread over at MoDaCo it seems the apps2SD implementation has been borked in the stock (non-kitchen) builds since release, which is disappointing to say the least. Fortunately a solution can be found in this thread at XDA. It's confirmed to work on MCR 2.1.
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  8. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    I take it borked means either cocked up or excluded!

    It seems a bit complicated, so I think I may just.ditch MoDaCo. Can you recommend another ROM which works well and has apps2sd working?
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Borked = broken.

    Adding Apps2SD as per that link is no more complicated than flashing another ROM (download *.ZIP file, copy to memory card, reboot into recovery and flash *.zip from the menu) and would avoid having to wipe the handset and start from scratch.
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  10. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Ok, I will give that a try then.

    Thank you for all your help.
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Yeah, having a seperate apps2sd.zip is a good idea. I had one for a while (when the trend was to have the half-app2sd, that still used up quite a lot of space) and never had any issues :)

    Keep it on the sdcard, it might be needed for your next ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...