Apps2sd on a rooted Hero with factory rom?


Last Updated:

  1. Tazdeviloo7

    Tazdeviloo7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone! I have a rooted Sprint Hero and I'd like to save and run apps off of my 16gb class 6 sd card while running the factory ROM. Is this possible? If so how can I do so. If not, I'm willing to flash to a different ROM, what's a good stable one? Thanks in advance for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Tazdeviloo7

    Tazdeviloo7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Come on, I thought I'd have a dozen responses by now. Did I ask a stupid question or something? Where can I download apps2sd? I know I have to partition my sd card before I can install it.
     
  3. swaze

    swaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok, the one I am running is DarchLegend 4.2.2 which is a 100% fully functioning 2.1 ROM of the Legend. It has Apps2SD already enabled when you flash, plus aggressive memory killer settings already installed. I like it, but I believe most of them have apps2sd. Which one are you running now?
     
  4. lunatech

    lunatech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    First, there is a section for Everything Root...this should have been posted there. It would have likely gotten a quicker response.


    Second, app2sd is supported in numerous ROMs. Each one is different. There is an entire wiki dedicated to all of the current ROM's. If you read the tutorial you will find the link to the wiki in there. I suggest starting there and checking things out :)
     
  6. Tazdeviloo7

    Tazdeviloo7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running the factory 1.5 ROM, rooted. So there is no way I can get apps2sd while using the factory cupcake rom? If not then I'll load up a different ROM this weekend. Thanks for all your help! :)
     
  7. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Your best bet is to install a custom ROM. I personally have not seen apps2sd working with a Stock Rooted Phone. This is because support for apps2sd is not built into Stock, but is built into certain ROM's. I know for a fact that Fresh 1.1 has support built in, and so do many others.
     
  8. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yes... Due to Piracy concerns they haven't yet allowed storing apps to the MicroSD card. Doesn't make sense to me, but you're right. As far as I know you must have a Custom ROM which allows it.

    ;)
     
  9. chaosis

    chaosis Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which also sucks for those users who are smart enough to not update certain apps (like chompsms's latest update carried ads and heavy lag), because you'd lose the good build of certain apps once you root amd be forced into the crap versions :-(
     

Share This Page

Loading...