AppstoSD using RA-hero-v1.6.2


Last Updated:

  1. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello,

    I can't seem to get this AppstoSD thing working.

    I am using Villian 5.3 ROM

    I've formatted my SD Card fully.

    Then using the
    RA-hero-v1.6.2 recovery.

    Fomatted the ext partition.

    Then converted ext2 to ext3

    Installed a couple of apps after booting.

    Went back into recovery.

    Copied apps and cache to sd card

    Re-booted and still the same.

    When I install new apps they are using internal strorage.

    What is the correct way to sort this out so all my apps are on my sd card ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you missed some steps out?

    I think you have to use the partition menu to partition your card first. Then convert ext2 to ext3.

    Or have you already done this step before?

    My internal storage goes down too, but not as much as without Apps2SD. I checked and the folders are in the correct place on the SD card. I think it's something to do with the cache being written to the internal memory, rather than the SD card.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    EDIT: Nevermind :p
     
  4. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    I applied the patch rebooted and hey presto internals shot up to 150 and everything is running sweet.

    Cheers peeeps
     
  5. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
  6. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    If you followed my guide then you wont have EX4..

    As the steps are Ex2 ---> EX3 ...

    Also that apps2sd fix was for CDMA Sprnt Hero... lucky it worked for you..

    I would not have touched it with a barge pole unless you wanted to risk bricking your phone...

    but lucky for you it worked.. next time avoid any files linked to CDMA... there are many apps2sd fixes for the gsm hero..
     
    Xyro and andy d like this.
  7. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was just about to try that file on my Hero.
    Thankfully i read your reply before i did it. :)
     
  8. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124

    Hi.. downlod the file I have attached.

    Put it on the root of your sd card

    turn off phone

    open up recovery menu (hold down power button and home button)

    flash it via zip..

    reboot (it may take a few minutes to reboot)

    done
     

    Attached Files:

    andy d likes this.
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    *Has a heart attack* Wow, I never would have risked that either but I didn't even notice it was CDMA.... I guess I should pay more attention when I google for stuff :p Don't think I'll be flashing that again. I guess it works because the file systems are structured the same way, but still, I think I'll take it out of my post.....
     
  10. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thank you phone is really flying now. :)
     
  11. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    How can you tell if apps2sd is working?
    My internal memory is at 141mb, 8gb sdcard at 6.60gb, but can't see any apps on sdcard.

    Thanks
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    The apps are stored in a partition invisible to windows (it can't deal with Ext partitions). But if you have all your apps on and have that much space free you definitely have it working.
     
    tojjer likes this.
  13. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ooops, I never noticed it was in a CDMA thread either. Luckily my phone is working along with APPS2SD. I also flashed this when I had SenseHERO ROM too. Will avoid next time and look for GSM versions.
     
  14. _MarkC

    _MarkC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for being dim here, and appreciate those comments.

    I've just bitten the bullet and followed a guide for rooting and flashing a new ROM. It's all gone well and I'm now running the Villain ROM mentioned here. But I have no apps2sd functionality and cannot remember any instructions being shown for formatting the SD card in these partitions mentioned.

    Do you have the link used for an idiots guide to this partition malarky?

    If I apply that patch flash (uploaded above), will it do anything if I am not formatted into partitions?

    Or do I need to go back to the drawing board and reinstall the ROM from scratch AFTER doing all this formatting malarky?

    Sorry for all these questions but you need to assume I have the intelligence, knowledge and expertise of a one legged chicken.
     
  15. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    How to create Ext2 Partition - Android Forums
     
  16. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    9
    It doesn't matter whether GSM or CDMA HERO for this functionality to be implemented/flashed on... I myself flashed it in my GSM Hero on top of SenseHERO 2.1.
    It is just posted under CDMA forum... creates confusion. That is it!
     
  17. _MarkC

    _MarkC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Holy Crap!! But thanks anyway...I think I will probably have to give apps2sd a miss then. Brain hurts.
     
  18. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yep, that was my first reaction too !!
    It's not as bad as it reads, honestly Mark.
     
  19. Doodylicious

    Doodylicious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the Hero really need the 32Mb swap partition?
     
  20. _MarkC

    _MarkC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Tojjer - but it reads really, really bad!!
     
  21. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
  22. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    this reads better
     
    _MarkC likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...