AppstoSD2 won't do anything :/


Last Updated:

  1. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just got my Class 6 in the post and I am trying to sort AppstoSD on my Hero.
    I have repeatedly tried to partition using ATSD2 but it won't work. It says it is dont and to reboot, but nothing has changed on the SD card.

    Also: if I do get this done, what exactly does ATSD2 do in comparison to A2SD (in terms of what I have to do manually?

    I really need help.

    EDIT: mkdir wont work in terminal. Apparently its a Read-Only source.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    What ROM are you running, G8D?
     
  3. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    The latest MoDaCo?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Then why are you attempting to install Apps2SD??? :confused:
     
  5. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Why wouldn't I??? :confused:
     
  6. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought you only installed apps to sd card if you were running a slow ROM?
     
  7. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Whats wrong with making a fast ROM faster?
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Because it's clearly stated in the release notes on the MCR download page here that A2SD is already included in the ROM.
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    The main purpose of apps 2 sd is to move all apps out of phone memory and onto the SDCard. This then provides unlimited apps as well as freeing Flash ROM for swap space should the RAM need more memory while running numerous apps and processes ,,, this will eliminate in LOW memory conditions ...

    This is not tied to any specific build/rom... but some ROMs like Cyanogen's will handle Apps2SD for you if it finds an EXT partition of your SDcard ... ext2/3/4 ...
     
  10. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok then. My only issue is that my card won't partition on the phone.

    How do you do it in Windows?
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I use Partition Magic to partition ...
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Or d/l the free GParted Live CD, boot that with your SDHC card in a reader and partition that way.
     
  13. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Norton or Paragon.. Had bad experiences with Paragon softwares before..
     
  14. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Sorry I use Paragon and had no problem ... Nice GUI interface ...
     
  15. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, got it.. But it only detects my HDD, no SD card is seen with the create partition selection..
     
  16. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Did you coonect you phone with the USB cable and then Mount the Drive ...

    Or if you have a standalone SDcard read/writer adapter ....

    Format the EXT3 partition at like 800mb and the balance at FAT32...
     
  17. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did it in a reader, going to mount it now..

    EDIT: OK.. Did it.. The EXT drive does not show up in explorer.. But my FAT partition is definately smaller. How do I know that apps are on the SD? Can I choose which ones go onto it?
     
  18. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    What is the available internal memory now compared to before? If there's more internal memory then it's a safe bet your apps have moved.

    Nope, they're moved en mass when an ext3 partition is detected.
     
  19. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    To make Paragon discover your SD through using mount on HTC hero.

    Launch Paragon

    then mount SD card

    then reload (F5) in paragon

    This is how I did mine.


    And I have the same problem as you :p Apps still installing to internal rather than SD.
     
  20. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Explorer does no read EXT partition ... this is a Linux Partition ... so now you have two partition's a smaller FAT32 and the ext3 ...
     
  21. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to barge in to your thread but...

    Do I have to re-install MCR2.2 again to detect my freshly formatted partitioned SD?
     
  22. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Then something may not be right with your partitioning.

    Assuming you have either the SDK installed or the subset of the SDK tools provided with the modifed Cyanogen 1.4 Recovery, connect with USB, open a command prompt in the folder containing adb.exe and enter the following commands:

    Code (Text):
    1. >adb shell
    2. # alias ls='ls --color=no'
    3. # busybox df -h
    You should see an output similar to:

    Code (Text):
    1. Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
    2. tmpfs                    96.2M         0     96.2M   0% /dev
    3. tmpfs                     4.0M         0      4.0M   0% /sqlite_stmt_journals
    4. /dev/block/mtdblock3    170.0M    149.0M     21.0M  88% /system
    5. /dev/block/mtdblock5    165.8M     24.1M    141.6M  15% /data
    6. /dev/block/mtdblock4    130.0M      1.1M    128.9M   1% /cache
    7. [B]/dev/block/mmcblk0p2    457.4M     14.9M    418.1M   3% /system/sd[/B]
    8. /dev/block//vold/179:1
    9.                          14.4G      1.5G     12.9G  11% /sdcard
    That /system/sd line refers to the ext3 partition.
     
  23. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Paragon has some reboot error due to it not working on 64 bit machines.. I dont think it worked.. CMD did not work (system/sd did not come up).

    EDIT: The restart operation, that has been requested now,
    cannot be performed under this 64-bit edition of Windows.
    Please use Recovery CD for this purpose.
    Error source: Hard Disk Manager
    Error code: 0x12015
     
  24. Tiramisu

    Tiramisu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can download 64bit Paragon, I have 64bit and it's running.

    Just need to figure out this A2SD.
     
  25. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    There's nothing much to figure out if you're running MCR2.x.

    Repartition the sdhc card FAT32-ext3 (in that order, ext3 must be second), reboot handset with card inserted, A2SD moves your apps to /system/sd/app automatically. Job done.
     

Share This Page

Loading...