Archos starting to issue 2.2 update.


Last Updated:

  1. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    Interesting, its been quite a while since a manufacturer states that by a certain date an update will be produced and actually fulfills that promise. Well it seems that Archos has indeed delivered the goods and has started issuing the 2.2 update on their site. This update is for all Gen 8 products so its not only for the 101 internet tablet.

    Good going Archos.

    More info here.


    TS out
     

    Advertisement
  2. vtwin-racing

    vtwin-racing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    15
    Doesn't look like it is really ready, lots of issues.. And i mean LOTS.
    Ill wait a week or two before trying to update. Now the real test of how good Archos is by fixing things quickly comes into play.
     
  3. Catfish

    Catfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    now if they would just release some tablets to put it on...
     
  4. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    146
    Mine comes tomorrow....where are you finding that there are issues with 2.2? It doesn't seem to be reported in this forum. I'd like to read it before updating.
     
  5. Hajile_Ibushi

    Hajile_Ibushi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    16
    Only three that i'm aware of.

    #1 The old subtitle bug is back

    #2 AC3 audio support is gone

    #3 SMB is finicky. I'm still trying to narrow it down but i might be related to users that have their shared folders passworded.


    #1 and #2 may be related. It's like the used an older video player.
     
  6. vtwin-racing

    vtwin-racing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    15
    Archosfans, there's an 11 page + post with many issues from many people.
    Even their facebook page has people posting up.
    Read them before you go 2.2 and decide if it'll affect you.
     
  7. Hajile_Ibushi

    Hajile_Ibushi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    16
    #3 solved. Still have issues with #1 and #2
     
  8. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    seems its running slower than 2.1 did on a lot of 101s, and due to flash certification delays they have released it without an official flash plugin built into 2.2. (flash will follow asap as an apk, but you can always sideload it from your phone, it may not be optimised though)

    many are reporting better results with a clean flash of 2.2 from the downloaded file on the Archos website, rather than the OTA update though.

    Im hoping Archos release another 'better/fixed' version of 2.2 soon though
     
  9. Hajile_Ibushi

    Hajile_Ibushi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    16
    Some of the posters noticed that the cpu 's been down clocked.
     
    thomasnzp likes this.
  10. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    my device still shows 300-600-1000 as the cpu settings. It does look like it's favoring the lower values more than in 2.1.

    If you upgrade I recommend doing a recovery format of the device and then load it via usb (the recovery mode handles all that for you) from you're computer. I did the OTA update and it was slow and crashy so did the recovery/wipe - format and now it's working a LOT better.

    Android Market works as does voice search and stuff if you install the libs/framework for the google apps. Most of the current methods don't tell you how to install the libs/framework.
     

Share This Page

Loading...