Are Awake Time vs. Up Time Problems Only on Phones with .3 Update?


Last Updated:

  1. kast107

    kast107 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    As many others have reported, it appears that awake time is in sync with up time after the Froyo update.

    Is this affecting users with .6 as well as .3 updaters?

    My phone stays awake when USB charging but also stays awake if I continue to charge the phone after the LED turns green. The screen may be off, but the phone stays awake. This is seriously messing with my battery life!

    I don't mind that it stays awake if I charge via USB, but I HATE that it continues to stay awake after USB is disconnected.

    UPDATE: I think it's not a .3 vs. .6 Problem, but a Facebook 1.3 problem. Darn you FB! Darn you to HECK!

    Note that the problem does go away with a quick power cycling of the phone, but comes back when I "overcharge" via USB.

    Any ideas? I'm mainly wondering if this is affecting both the .3 AND .6 Froyo updates?

    Here's how to check, in case you don't know.

    Menu > Settings > About Phone > Battery

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    uptime 1:38:02
    awake 0:22:58

    no issues for me here
     
  3. kast107

    kast107 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I found the Culprit. FB 1.3...

    Just out of curiosity, are you on the .3 or .6 update?

    Thanks for the quick response!
     
  4. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    .3
     
  5. bobr0949

    bobr0949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    Phone will not slepp when on USB this is normal same on 1.6 2.1 2.2.
    FB 1.3.0 was causing my phone to not sleep.
    Uninstalled and all is well.
     
    kast107 likes this.
  6. kast107

    kast107 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    *Breathes a sigh of relief* Thanks so much. I guess I just never noticed. I just started noticing once FB was installed.

    I really appreciate the help. You have made my afternoon, sir. :)
     
  7. heide247

    heide247 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know this is probably posted somewhere but I'm at work and dont have time to look thru all the posts.

    My battery is reading 26:35:25 Up time and 4:43:21 Awake time and battery life less than 50%. I charged my phone for 7 hrs last night then unplugged this morning around 630am, its now 4pm and I have less than 1/2 of the battery left and have only made a few calls and text messages.

    Any help would be great, thanks!!!

    Edit:

    Also I do use ATK and have updated to 2.2. I tried not using ATK when I updated yesterday morning but my battery was draining by the minute!!!
     
  8. EdwardChen

    EdwardChen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    I seem to have this problem too, I can't get my evo to go into standby. The uptime is the same as awake time. I don't have Facebook to uninstall (at least on my apps list). It is an app though. hmm.
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
  10. CoachEVO

    CoachEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    23
    My suggestion is what EarlyMon suggested...do a hard reset. Back up your files to SD or online with MybackupPro (Marketplace). It worked for me in totality. The other thing to do is to download the Network app (Marketplace) so that you can do the toggle GMA/CDMA thing as well. Open the app, put it on GMA, exit the app. Go back in and toggle it to CDMA auto, exit out again. Should get you running well. Kind of a pain, but well worth it. Hope it helps. Here is the link if my instructions suck.

    http://androidforums.com/support-tr...140632-so-heres-my-problems-2-2-help-fix.html
     
    heide247 likes this.
  11. 84guy

    84guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    46
    i was having the same problem with fb 1.3 installed. reverted back to 1.2 that comes with 2.2 and all works as it should. wife's hero with 2.1 was doing the same so its not 2.2 only. sucks she had to revert back to 1.1.3 so no inbox for her till its fixed
     
  12. bobr0949

    bobr0949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    Anyone have the 1.2 apk?
     
  13. bobr0949

    bobr0949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    I wouldn't be a bad idea to send a email to the developer android-support@facebook.com.
    I sent one earlier.
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Welcome to the forum!

    Sorry to hear of your troubles, many of us are here to help - you will get through this.
     
  15. heide247

    heide247 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks! Just finished backup and factory reset... just need to restore and see how it works!!!
     
  16. Captain Sexy

    Captain Sexy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    22
    I think that's pretty good with all the stuff that runs in the background.
     
  17. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Its not just a Facebook 1.3.0 causing the awake problem. I had the awake issue before I installed the new FB update. And yes I did a hard reset and all the network PRL crap. Something isn't playing nice with FROYO!!
     
  18. ashlee228

    ashlee228 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not froyo. I've had this problem since I've phone. I know I read on here others have had this problem for awhile too.
     
  19. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    I didn't have the charge/awake problem until I did the OTA update. I think something isn't working right with HTC Sense and not all apps are 2.2 compatible yet. Looks like Sprint was in a big rush to release 2.2 before VZW!! Guess we will have to see what bugs the Droid X, INC and Droid have when they get the real 2.2 update.
     
  20. Bagua

    Bagua Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same as Siliybilly no up/awake issue until Froyo, so hard reset later looks like the issue is getting better. THere are 2 apps I did not re-install. That would be spiritbomb live wallpaper which caused a conflict with another app and home button, the other Tajm which was constantly running for me even when it wasn't my clock widget and when it was killed it continually would restart and run in the background.
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    No reasons to envy Droid X users right now...

    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-x/141270-attention-running-android-2-1-big-read-me.html - Droid X only!

    I feel for those guys, I really do.

    Personally, I can't blame 2.2 for bad apps. Froyo's been out on the Nexus One for some time, so I can't lay this at any carrier or phone maker - just my opinion.
     
  22. mw383

    mw383 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    same thing happened when i had the Hero last fall: the update to 2.0 (i think it was) destroyed my up/awake time.

    a subsequent update solved the problem.

    don't worry, everything will be okay
     
  23. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    Same here, as I've posted before. I've tried diff combination's with mixed results.

    USB Charging on PC: No sleep.
    AC Charging: Sleeps.
    USB Charging on PC: Very slow Charge.
    AC Charging: Very fast charge.
    USB Charge with Evo off: Can't tell/haven't done.
    AC Charging with Evo off: Normal/Fast.
    USB full charge on PC: Still no sleep.
    AC full charge: Sleeps.
    No connection: Sleeps.
    2.1: Always sleeps even on USB, and also was a fast/normal charge.
    2.2 PRE-release: Only doesn't sleep with USB on PC, and VERY VERY slow charge.

    Not sure how I can fix that situation with USB on PC sleep/charge. Like I said, I will wait until .6 release to see if there's any difference.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  24. GirlGoneGeek

    GirlGoneGeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    33
    Facebook released 1.3.1 yesterday to deal with the battery thing. Check for it in the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...