are buttons a must??

Last Updated:

1. inkandcolor

inkandcolor New Member This Topic's Starter

I'm a interactive designer working on Android projects. One question I'm having in my mind is that, Are Buttons Really A Must?

Because I see developers starting to design APPs with build-in menu button and back button on screen. They are trying avoid the hardware buttons on the cellphone and maybe eventually create new android that is more and more like iPhone--A phone with only one home button.

So someone please tell me, are menu button and back button a must in Android design? Is there some kind of mandatory from Google that hardware buttons are key features of Android?

Please let me know!!!

Advertisement
  2. nycebo

nycebo Well-Known Member

Clearly the 'Search' button isn't going anywhere. ;-)

3. IOWA

IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

I liek my buttons. Like on my qwerty, the search button is very handy. And the back button is invaluable. And I like dedicated call/end buttons. One touch access to the most important part of my phone, the phone. So yes I say they are needed.

4. AndroidSPCS

AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

Agree, as another Moment user! :)

5. inkandcolor

inkandcolor New Member This Topic's Starter

yes, I know that these buttons are handy. But some developers are designing APPs with buttons showing on touch screen, so that users can carry out everything on screen, just like iPhone. The line between iPhone and Android is getting blurry.

So I want to know, if there is mandatory from Google, that hardware buttons must exist?

6. AndroidSPCS

AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

We're not Google so we can't tell you, but as users we're telling you they are a must.

Sometimes, especially due to slower hardware, or apps that have bugs, it's invaluable to have the hardware buttons.

7. bluenova

bluenova OK Computer VIP Member