Are there Automatic Updates for Apps?


Last Updated:

  1. abourne

    abourne Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    6
    For quite some time before getting my Android phone, I was using the iPod Touch, which would automatically tell me when there were updates for my Apps, and I would simply click "update" to update and install the latest versions.

    Recently, Facebook updated its App.

    I would not have known about this unless I read an article and went to the Android Market to find the Facebook App.

    It appears there are no automatic updates for Apps. Is this correct?


    Question

    Are there automatic updates for Apps?
     

    Advertisement
  2. LLWesMan

    LLWesMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd love to know the answer to this - and have it be yes!
     
  3. ThermalGuy

    ThermalGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of my apps notify me when an update is available. just click on it to install the update.
     
  4. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    You should get a notification, saying there are ___# of apps with updates.

    If you are not getting the update notification, goto to market and check your settings.
     
  5. LLWesMan

    LLWesMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    how do you get to market settings? nothing comes up when pressing menu.
     
  6. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    market-downloads-menu
     
  7. LLWesMan

    LLWesMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    All that those notifications do is let you know that you've installed a new app. They don't notify you when there are updates.
     
  8. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6

    Mine says ...

    notify when items are updated
    &
    do not notify me
     
  9. LLWesMan

    LLWesMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what I just said - it tells you when they are updated - as in "you have installed yadada update". It does NOT inform you when there are new updates that need to be installed.
     
  10. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    Actually it will place the app that has an available update on top of the list with the words "Update available" in the area where it normally says "Installed"

    Android Market Help - Upgrades

    When one of your installed apps moves to the top of the list and the words "Update available" are shown, press on the app and you will be given the option to Update it.
     
  11. LLWesMan

    LLWesMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Right - what we were trying to find out in this thread is whether there was a way to get the phone to either automatically update or to have a popup notification saying that a certain program needed to be updated. Without going into the "my downloads" part of the marketplace there is no way to know.
     
  12. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    I was adding this to my post when you replied

    As for "Automatic" updates... if you know anything about computers/software you should also know that allowing automatic updates is never a great idea
     
  13. abourne

    abourne Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, I think that answers a key question.

    This is a key difference with my iPod Touch (and for iPhone users) where there's a badger number on the "App Store" icone (1, 2, 3, etc...) indicating the number of Apps that have updates available.

    On my HTC Hero, I have to do the following manually.

    1) Tap on the "Android Market" icon

    2) Select "My Downloads"

    3) A list of my Apps will appear noting either

    a) Update Available

    b) Installed

    I have to do this manually.

    There is no notification that alerts me that an update is available, not even an email notification to subscribe to updates, for example.

    Am I correct with my understanding and summary here?

    .
     
  14. abourne

    abourne Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    6
    That may a good point and have merit worth sharing.

    However, this thread is about:

    Alerting us that an update is available, prompting us to then update it.

    Not about automatically updating it.

    Even with an alert, the user is on control of actually performing the update.

    It appears, based on my previous post, that there are no such alerts.

    One must manually, and periodically, check:

    Market --> My Downloads --> See list of Apps for "Update Avail" or "Installed"

    .
     
  15. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest

    Yep that is currently the only way, it really does not take very long.

    15 seconds if your real slow.
     
  16. cbarth3

    cbarth3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Am i incorrect in thinking that the item under my downloads menu that says notifications is to actually pop up a notification in the pull down area?

    My friend has a moment and he informed me his phone will tell him when an app has an update. (this could be incorrect info but who knows)

    Would like the feature of giving me a notification for an app update that is for sure. I have atrackdog but that is a manual thing also
     
  17. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    I've seen this discussed in other forums. I believe that the notification popup in the top bar is intended to provide an alert for app updates, however, on the Hero, they don't work.

    Personally, I don't know if it's more of an annoyance to see the notification or to not have it work. I typically just go into My Downloads as the first thing I do when I go into the Market to see if I need to update anything. Doesn't take too long.
     

Share This Page

Loading...