Are there really only 9 speed dials?


Last Updated:

  1. collette

    collette Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a DROID eris HTC and there are only 9 speed dials. My antique LG would let me use any number for a speed dial even if it was two digits. It came in handy as each person was assigned his or her birthdate. Now with my high tech phone I only have 9????? Please tell me there's a way. There MUST be seeing as 86 is speed dial. hmmmm:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    I can't answer the question about more than 9 speed dials, but if you're referring to *86 (to call your voicemail) as a speed dial, that's not what it is. *86 is a code established by Verizon (and possibly other carriers, I suppose). When you dial *86, that's actually what you're dialing, and the system redirects you to your voicemail.
     
  3. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    You have unlimited speed dials, just set up a short cut to the contact on your Android home pages, and voila, instant dial.
     
  4. collette

    collette Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great!!! But I'm still not sure where to set up the short cut. If you mean a widget, yes I have set up a phone number widget on my home page, but I'm looking to assign various phone numbers a two digit number. You're saying this is possible? Where on the home page can I locate this miracle solution. So near and yet so far! errrrrr Collette :)
     
  5. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    I think what AndroidSPCS is referring to is creating a direct dial shortcut on the home screen. If you long-press on the home screen, a context menu will appear. Select Shortcuts then Direct Dial. You can then select a specific Contact's phone number to dial simply by touching the shortcut icon.
     
  6. collette

    collette Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! Yes, I did do that already and I guess that should be short enough. Old habits die hard. Also, putting numbers in "favorites" and then having favorites be a widget is also a way to access quick dialing. I've given up on voice command as it thought the word "Jenny B" was Valentinos! Yikes! it seems to only pick up one syllable words. Oh well! Can't have everything!
     
  7. JackTheMan18

    JackTheMan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may also want to use the app called: AnyCut - it puts an icon on a homepage for all your shortcut phonenumbers.
     
  8. collette

    collette Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I'll do that! :)
     
  9. athenssmile

    athenssmile Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same question about the 9 speed dials. Really?!?!?

    I am trying the suggestions, but I am having a problem. I long pressed on the home screen and chose shortcuts. When I get here, I don't see Direct Dial. I get bookmark, gmail label, mail inbox, music playlist, person, program, and toggle google voice.

    Maybe I can find AnyCut.
     

Share This Page

Loading...