Astro is a MESS...Support


Last Updated:

  1. izzy35

    izzy35 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    11
    Has anyone ever opened up Astro/sdcard and seen the debacle that lies within. I don't know about anyone else, but I'm one of those that HAS to have all of my organizational hierarchies in some type of logical order, or for this matter, at least KNOW what the heck i'm looking at.

    There are files and folders, some with logical names, others in codes, ALL OVER ASTRO and it's driving me NUTS!! Why is it set up this way? And why the heck is there TWO download folders?? One says "download" which holds all of the downloads that i do, and the other is "downloadS," which is empty. Since it's empty, i've deleted it about 10 times and it keeps COMING BACK...why??:mad:
     

    Advertisement
  2. ctc

    ctc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    30
    This isn't Astro, this is the filesystem on your phone. Astro is just showing you what is there.
     
  3. izzy35

    izzy35 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    11
    Really?? But when i click on astro, at the top it shows, Astro/sdcard. So all that gibberish is already on the Sd card??
     
  4. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    It's called linux, my laptop has an identical file hierarchy. Just because it isn't what you are used to doesn't mean its illogical :D
     
  5. ttamnedlog

    ttamnedlog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yeah. And the downloads folder that keeps reappearing is probably being placed there by some app.
     
  6. mrootes

    mrootes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    Izzy35 - Not only is all that crap on the SD Card, but I even went in and DELETED those files to organize everything. Sure enough, they eventually all came back!

    So then I moved all the files to the phone memory (which is a mess, too) and once again cleared the SD Card. Again - they all showed up on the SD Card!

    I can;t get the file structure to change on both the SD Card AND the phone.
     
  7. ctc

    ctc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    30
    There are the base Android folders and then whatever folders your apps create. This is just the way it is...
     
  8. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    Ok really? You notice that when you install on OS on your computer suddenly a very small percentage of your HDD storage is missing right? Same thing with internal/external memory on your phone. The card needs to be formatted and system information is placed on a small percentage of the card. That information is what makes sure your SD card/internal memory communicates properly with the phone.

    Again I say, ITS LINUX! Just because it isn't what you are used to, doesn't mean it is illogical :eek: shocking, I know
     
  9. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    When you activate your phone, if you don't have an SD card in, the file system will build stuff on the internal memory, leaving your SD card free to hot swap stuff.
     
  10. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    !! You're right, I forgot about that, the VZW guy mentioned that to me when I bought it since I brought my own SD card.
     
  11. mrspeedmaster

    mrspeedmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    256
    Well, many apps will store their stuff on the SD card regardless. I have a bunch of apps like DropBox Zumodrive, Qik, FxCamera, they will install stuff on the SD card.
     
  12. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    Right but what Neco is saying is that the formatted system information will not be placed on the SD card if you activate without the card in.
     
  13. 5150Marley

    5150Marley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    If you did a factory reset and didnt have a memory card would it build the stuff on the internal memory??

    So you would be able to hot swap the sd card.

    Which is the better solution.. having it on internal memory or the sd card?
     
  14. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    What I did on my old Omnia was (and this had the ability to store apps on the card) put all my apps on the card and if the phone became buggy and slow, take the card out and it would speed up my phone til I could clean it up.

    IMO the info is better placed on the card because for me the card isn't always in my phone.

    Doing a factory reset requires you to reactivate the phone, so yes it would build that info on the internal memory and not the SD card.
     
  15. 5150Marley

    5150Marley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    So if you kept the card in all the time it would be best to do keep all the phone data on the phone vs the sd card?? I would put photos and media on the sd card.

    What is entailed in reactivating the phone??
     
  16. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    71
    I don't think it matters a whole lot if you are keeping your card in, unless you use a card reader vs usb cable transfer.

    Menu >> Settings >> Privacy >> Factory Reset
    -Everything is erased from phone/SD card (if its in when you do the factory reset)
    -Reactivate phone through *228 process
    -Sign into google/verizon sync/fb/twitter
    -Recalibrate keyboard

    Pretend like its the day you bought the phone and you first turned it on. Check out the battery threads, some involve a factory reset (like the one I did) and that will give you a chance to see if you can improve you battery too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...