At&t 3g on a Samsung Vibrant works!


Last Updated:

  1. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    Looks Like 3g Works fine in the central Texas area for now at least....

    Just got my phone unlocked im soooo happy!!!:D


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
    gyromanx55 likes this.
  2. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    yup, this was confirmed a while ago, there has been a thread about it on xda developers.
     
  3. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Explain? Your Tmob phone picks up AT&Ts 3G?
     
  4. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    OMG, don't tell me you didnt know this, yes you get AT&T 3G for free, you don't even have to pay T-mobiles data plan! The Vibrant picks up AT&T 3G compeltely free, cancel your t-mobile data! J.K...couldn't resist.


    Hey robinelli, when you put AT&T sim into a t-mobile unlocked phone, the phones voice will function, but 3G won't.

    However, with the Vibrant, when putting in AT&T's sim card, the 3G works.
     
  5. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Why wouldnt you just get a Captivate?
     
  6. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    unlimited internet for $10 or 15 for 200 mb with the captivate

    Easy decision lol
     
    gyromanx55 likes this.
  7. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    You are gettin unlimited internet on the vibrant for 10 bucks? How? The imei codes on the vibrant are blacklisted, and only work with the android data plan, not the cheaper data plans. How did you manage to get 10 dollar internet to work on the vibrant?
     
  8. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    They are not black listed because its working fo me!

    Guess I got lucky!:p
     
    gyromanx55 likes this.
  9. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    I'm sorry I'm totally confused. You said you put At&t sim card into your vibrant, and the reason you didn't get the captivate is because the T-mobiles data plans are cheaper and unlimited. So how are you getting T-mobile service with a At&t sim. I lost you, i'm not following, i'm confused.

    So let me get this straight, you have an At&t sim card in your phone, but you are paying T-mobile for 10 dollar unlimited internet? How is that possible? And yes, the Vibrant imei is blacklisted, it won't work with T-mobiles web-2-go plan.
     
  10. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm not on a t mobile plan. I have at&t plan and I use there service. I'm using at&t's
    $10 plan (at least for the data part)
     
    gyromanx55 likes this.
  11. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Okay, but you implied above that the reason you didn't get the captivate was because At&t's data prices are expensive. I'm utterly confused.

    So you are getting unlimited data from At&t for 10 bucks a month? Since when did At&t offer 10 dollar unlimited internet?

    Also, you said "at least the for the data part." Confused me even more, so you are using At&t for data, and voice T-mobile? how?

    I'm totally confused, I think you are too.
     
  12. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    If you buy a phone off contract or an unlocked/open phone and swap the sim card you are not obligated to tell them you have replaced your phone... If you do not tell the carrier you have a different phone the pricing from your old contract will remain the same... for example people who are on tmobile and have a sidekick could essentially replace the old sidekick with an off contract/open phone that was purchased and use it without changing their plan... not saying I agree with it but yes it can be done...
     
  13. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Okay mod, thats not where my confusion is. Also why don't you agree with getting a new phone off contract and staying month to month. I've had T-mobile tell me more than once, I can purchase a new phone, off contract, at full retail, and stay on my grandfathered plan without signing a new contract. Nothing wrong with that.

    That wasn't my confusion. Here is my confusion. The poster was excited and said he put his at&t sim into the vibrant and 3g worked. Okay great.

    Then another user asked him/her why he/she didn't just purchase the captivate, which is a logical question.

    Then the poster replied "unlimited internet for $10 or 15 for 200 mb with the captivate
    Easy decision lol"

    So this lead me to believe the poster meant he was getting T-mobiles web-2-go for 10 bucks and running this on the vibrant unlimited, versus 15 bucks for 200mb with at&t which would suck.

    Get it? The poster isn't making sense, if the poster infact is using a $10 data plan from at&t, then why not get the captivate like the other person asked.

    Read the thread over again, I think confusion will set in for you also. Unless I'm a total goof, and I'm missing some logic here.

    Did the poster get a free vibrant, or maybe found one and unlocked it? If thats the case, then this makes sense, otherwise why wouldn't the poster just purchase an unlocked captivate or captivate off contract. Other than that, I'm still confused.

    Also he/she used wording that gave the impression that data was coming from at&t while voice was coming from t-mobile.

    One last thing, if the poster was getting 10 buck internet from at&t, the poster would be grandfathered in. It wouldn't matter if he upgraded to captivate, at&t wouldn't force him to get the more expensive plan, thats if the 10 dollar plan is compatible with smarphones.
     
  14. Elite GunnerX

    Elite GunnerX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    13
    As soon as I put my sim card into a captivate I am automatically "upgraded" to a smart phone plan. Right now I am using the cheap dumb phone plan. I use a vibrant because at&t does not have a list of the IEMI's and can't charge me for it
     
    gyromanx55 likes this.
  15. vuvision

    vuvision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    10
    Very interesting!
     
  16. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Nice! Wish I'd thought of that LOL.
     
  17. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    ahhhh it all makes sense now. you figured out a way to kinda trick at&t.

    you know, if cell phone companies weren't such dicks, people wouldn't have to go through all these loops.

    for heavens sake, why do cell phone companies charge $30+ for internet. My home internet doesn't even cost that much, and you can download junk all day without a data cap. Cell phone data is way too overpriced if you ask me.
     
  18. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31

    Im paying $20 for unlimited w/ T-Mobile.

    My home internet is ridiculous. $55 with Cox. I really wish i could cut that in half and tried but Clear was too damn slow for me to switch as i didnt get a very good signal.
     
  19. PlowRox

    PlowRox Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    kinda off topic...but how do you get the speed test app? and also every time I go to that site theres a error says "missing license key" contact webmaster....

    I have tried 3 different browsers so not sure why I get that error message...
     
  20. PlowRox

    PlowRox Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Doh I just found it in the "market"..... why not have a link from their site...they have one for the itards...
     
  21. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    How are you getting unlimited data for $20? They negotiate on the price? I'm paying $25/mo.
     
  22. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    20 bucks is a grandfathered price for unlimited data. You can't negotiate unless your contract is up. I remember you said loyalty gave you a free vibrant, so chances are they wont give you both. They keep track of how many loyalty offers you get. You can always try if you are still in your remorse period.
     
  23. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    go to market, search for speedtest, two pop up, make sure you get the more popular one.

    good luck
     
  24. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    I wasnt grandfathered in. It was $30 and i went to the loyalty depot and asked for a better deal. Ive been with T-Mo for almost 7 years. I didnt get my phones for free though. It was $149 for both mine and my Daughters.

    I am about to call again and ask for a battery too. Mine imo sucks and the one i goy on ebay isnt that good either. It died last night with 40% left while sitting on my nightstand doping nothing. However, i never let it die before charging it til today. It came w/ 64% charged and i charged it up from there. We'll see how that goes today.
     
  25. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    You may not have been gradfathered in, but the 20 bucks is a grandfathered option, that they offered you. PS...there is also an unlimited 5 dollar data plan.

    PS...I kinda laughed about the battery thing, if t-mobile gives out free batteries to everyone they will go out of business. Let us know if it works though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...