[AT&T] Cm update


Last Updated:

  1. milksnatcher

    milksnatcher Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    I installed cm 10.2 the other day on my att HTC one. When cm 11 becomes stable, is there any way I can get it without having to wipe my phone again?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    10,393
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    You should always do a full wipe for a major version change. There's no guarantee that everything will remain the same, so the new version may very well hard crash, requiring a recovery wipe and you'll be doing exactly what you're trying to avoid doing.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  3. milksnatcher

    milksnatcher Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    So, if I wanted cyanogenmod 11, would I have to root?
     
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes Received:
    7,418

    If you're unlocked/s off and have a recovery installed,you just need to make a backup,wipe,and flash the rom :)
     
  5. dibblebill

    dibblebill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    355
    You don't even need S-Off.
     
  6. clsA

    clsA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    551

    changing from CM 10.2 to CM 11 would only require a wipe/factory reset and flash of the current rom
     
  7. dibblebill

    dibblebill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    355
    Shouldn't even need to factory reset from 10.2 to 11
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes Received:
    7,418

    If you chose to "dirty flash" make sure you don't blame any bugs or prollems you have on the rom. While 4.3 is similar to 4.4 a full wipe is recomended to make the jump from 10.2 to 11.

    No harm in trying it,but be prepaired to full wipe and reflash if things don't work quite right.
     
  9. clsA

    clsA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    551
    As @Rukbat stated above, with any major version change, you should do a full wipe/factory reset. Dirty flashing KitKat on top of Jellybean is not recommended.
     
  10. dibblebill

    dibblebill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    355
    Just stating from personal experience. If course, you're right. "It worked for me" doesn't mean that it will work for you or the next guy
     
  11. infotiger

    infotiger Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use titanium back up. Then do a full wipe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...