[AT&T] Experts, Please help with rooting Android 4.4.2 on Galaxy S4

Last Updated:

1. rebel2401

rebel2401 Member

Hi there, I am a pretty tech savy guy, I dont know why I am having so much trouble rooting my galaxy S4,

I have tried 2 methods so far, and followed the instructions carefully, I dont know why its not.
    The first method are the instructions in this video here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLHt_HCWwr0

The second method is using Kingo, the error I got there is:
    It said "Root Failed! Flash Failed"

any ideas why its doing this or more importantly, how to fix it? It's a pretty fresh phone so I can't imagine I could have done much to cause it difficulty.

Here is a pic of the error I'm getting
    [​IMG]
    picture share

I appreciate your help really need to root it as soon as possible
    Thank you

Advertisement
  2. mana0216

mana0216 New Member

i am having the same problem, tried 4 different ways all failed
  3. windsorclarenc

windsorclarenc Well-Known Member

4.4.2 isn't rootable yet. I'm sure in time it will be though.
    kevp75 likes this.
  4. rebel2401

rebel2401 Member

I do believe it is rootable.. thats what all the guides I followed said
  5. g0lden

g0lden Well-Known Member

At this time, the only way to root on 4.4 is to downgrade to mk2 and flash a rooted 4.4 rom with safestrap. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2680868
    kevp75 likes this.
  6. rebel2401

rebel2401 Member

7. windsorclarenc

windsorclarenc Well-Known Member

Because it's YouTube. People put up fake stuff like that all the time. Especially if they can lead you away from YouTube with a download link for their software.
    g0lden likes this.
  8. OrKo

OrKo Well-Known Member

The G2's 4.4.2 update just got root, I'm sure you guys aren't far behind.

By the way my fiance has one of these, I'll be around..
  9. mrao

mrao Well-Known Member