[AT&T] I edited build.prop and my phone (Galaxy S4) doesn't boot properly.


Last Updated:

  1. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here are the text shown files:
    Original(backup): Free File Sharing and Storage made Simple.
    Edited: Free File Sharing and Storage made Simple.

    My Samsung Galaxy S4 phone version is:
    I337UCUEMK2

    It is rooted.
    To make it clear, I have a backup of the original build.prop file which I just need to replace in the /system directory. I have not made a nandroid backup prior to this.

    If you are curious I edited it by following this tutorial: Filthy Pants: A Computer Blog: How to Download Region-Locked Japanese Games from Android Market
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,184
    Likes Received:
    21,031
    Hey BeyondSmash, welcome to our AndroidForums!

    Sorry to hear of your booting issue :(, but I've moved your thread to the AT&T all things root sub-forum since you should get more views and replies in there.

    Best of luck!
     
    BeyondSmash likes this.
  3. hopsin4444

    hopsin4444 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Man my best solution for your issue would be to Odin back to stock
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,184
    Likes Received:
    21,031
    I would like to add that if you can achieve adb access, you should be able to use that to launch a rooted shell and back-out your change.

    I do wonder if your device is getting far enough into the boot cycle to have adb available to you. Your best best would be to attach your device to your PC and launch "adb devices" and see if it will see your device (this assumes you have adb available to you on your PC).
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  5. hopsin4444

    hopsin4444 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is true but if the build prop is sending it into a bootloop it won't work cause it won't connect long enough to excicute it
     
    scary alien likes this.
  6. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    It seems a little drastic, in my opinion because I have a backup of the build.prop on the phone and on my computer.

    I have ADB downloaded onto my computer, but I don't know what to do when you say "you should be able to use that to launch a rooted shell and back-out your change."
     
  7. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would also like to add that I have an microSD Card in the phone.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Do you have a custom recovery? If so, you should be able to run adb from there.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    What do you mean by custom recovery? I don't want to sound noobish, but I want to be sure.
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Team Win (TWRP), Clockwork recovery, Philz recovery, etc. Sorry, not familiar with this phone and what's available.
     
  11. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, to answer your previous question: No, I never took the time to do those. Anything, I can remotely find relevant that I've done is when I do the volume up+power button it shows the android with its stomach open and options (reboot system now
    apply update from ADB
    apply update from external storage
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partitio
    apply update from cache)
    Right now I have ADB installing packages.
     
  12. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,184
    Likes Received:
    21,031
    Unfortunately, you're not able to access it to restore it to it's proper place because of the boot loop and the protected nature of the /system filesystem.

    Try:

    - connecting your phone to your PC
    - from a Windows Prompt (DOS prompt), type "adb devices"
    - if it return something like this:

    where the "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx device" portion is the most significant part (the x's being your device's serial number), then adb can indeed "see" your device and you likely would have some recovery options.

    Unfortunately, the storage area you need access to (/system partition) is internal :(.

    You would likely know and/or be aware that have a custom (non-stock) recovery installed.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  13. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't see anything in C:/Users/MyName/ that is relevant except for the folder ".android".
    In that folder contains 2 folders:
    "avd"
    "cache"
    and 2 files:
    adbkey
    adbkey.pub


    EDIT: In case it matters: My ADB SDK is still installing packages(should be done soon)
     
  14. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    If none of that matters, what would the next step be in recovery?

    Will it still be rooted afterwards?

    Also, can you suggest to me a way to have a secure, easy backup/recovery in the future I can use?
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Ok, well I'm afraid that's a deal breaker for the adb route then unless you can get device recognition while plugged into usb but it sounded like it might be bootlooping which likely wouldn't allow that. We'd also have to assume you've enabled USB debugging at some point prior to this.
     
    BeyondSmash and scary alien like this.
  16. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have indeed enabled USB debugging, etc prior. I just can't get the window pop up on my computer that my phone is indeed being read. My post above yours -- I am looking for a recovery solution now. It is sad that I have to resort to this and I deeply regret altering that file. I shouldn't have cared so much for a japanese app.
     
  17. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you help me find the instructions to do this?
     
  18. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    508
    OP - FYI: Once you get the current issue sorted, you can try the build.prop thing again. I downloaded both your files and see that the cause of your problem is you edited it with a Windows editor (I'm guessing 'Notepad'). This causes it to have a hex "0D 0A" line terminator, instead of "0A" as expected. Just re-edit using a *nix editor, like WinVi32.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  19. BeyondSmash

    BeyondSmash Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I already realized that. Anyway update to the thread: problem is solved!
    I flashed a correct stock firmware for my galaxy s4 and everything works great again! Thanks for any help attempted and given. :)
     
    scary alien likes this.
  20. mrleroybrown

    mrleroybrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'd love to use Odin and return to stock, but I don't know where to find the stock .tar or .rar roms...I'm stuck in bootloop due to removing platform.xml folder from system>etc>permissions folder and rebooted it before putting the mofified platform.xml back in the permissions folder. Where can I find the stock roms flashable in Odin for S4 (SGH-I337 Bn1)
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,295
    Likes Received:
    22,287
    I don't see the full rom for NB1 on the Sammobile website, but you can get I337UCUAMDL (4.2.2) and update to 4.4.2 using the OTA.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  22. Devmanx86

    Devmanx86 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, odin with kies if you have other problems. You will be factory reset, ota updated, lose custom recovery, and lose root. Everything will be STOCK!
     

Share This Page

Loading...