[AT&T] Install Note 2 Titanium backup to Note 3?


Last Updated:

  1. spinedoc

    spinedoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have a Titanium backup from my old Note 2, anyone care to venture a guess if this would install onto a Note 3? It would be nice to get setup this quick, I miss Apple's backup method and wish Google had something like it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    135
    I would and have safely done this before between s2 and note, then note to note 2. I will restore my latest back up pro to my new note 3 but others argue not to. I've seen no evidence this causes problems.
     
  3. spinedoc

    spinedoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    Very cool, thanks. One less hassle to worry about.
     
  4. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,724
    Likes Received:
    3,090
    Does Titanium backup restore all settings a person made, as far as UI is concerned? Or is it just like all the other backup apps (e.g. pics/music/videos/etc.).

    I know root is required to use it, but I've always been curious what makes Titanium backup more thorough than any of the other popular backup apps.
     
  5. NJRonbo

    NJRonbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    35
    Is Titanium Backup only for rooted phones?

    I ask, because I would guess you have to root the Note III first to do the restore and I am not certain there is a root available.

    This is all speculation on my part.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    It does apps and associated data, so if you have a custom launcher, it will do widgets and home screen stuff.

    Whilst TB will do system settings, it's not recommended. So stuff like ringtones, brightness etc, its best to do manually.

    I think helium handles system settings though.
     
    ocnbrze and drexappeal like this.
  7. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,724
    Likes Received:
    3,090
    Yes. From the actual app title, it says for rooted only.
     
  8. rawhide85

    rawhide85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    40
    spine- Just wondering if the restore worked. On XDA they have found that Knox will register even flashing CWM, which may void your warranty.
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,906
    Likes Received:
    10,838
    Warranty shmarranty... :D

    Unless the Note 3 has a mechanism in place to report a rooting action (wouldn't surprise me), you can always unroot/lock it and turn it in for warranty repairs. Then unlock/root it again.

    The concern I have is whether or not someone will find a successful root exploit. I don't NEED CWM or a ROM... all I want is root so I can do exactly this: transfer a TiBU file from my Nexus to the new Note 3 and restore all my app DATA.
     
  10. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    45
    My Note 2 is rooted but my Note 3 isn't. If I only backup user apps and leave the system stuff can I restore that backup to the unrooted Note 3?
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    No, with TB, you need root to restore the data.

    You might want to take a look at Helium though, I think that can restore without root.
     
    ocnbrze and GiggityGiggity like this.
  12. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    45
    Cool, I'll check it out, thanks.
     
  13. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    45
    Well, that didn't go well. Many problems, lost settings, phone behaving erratically even after reboot. Had to factory reset it. Guess it'll have to be Titanium Backup. I know the Note 3 can be rooted but I'm using a Mac. Anyone know of a way to root it using a Mac instead of a pc?
     

Share This Page

Loading...