1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

AT&T update?General


Last Updated:

  1. knoppler

    knoppler Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just noticed there was a update available for our Avails from AT&T and wondered if anyone had any idea what it was or what it did?

    I'm currently rooted and don't want to have this mess that up if possible.
     

    Advertisement
  2. GoNavy

    GoNavy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't know but I did the upgrade the day I bought the phone and now I can bring it out of sleep mode with the power button or the menu button ...kinda of....one day it works then the next it doesn't hadn't figured it out yet.
     
  3. crshocks

    crshocks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im also rooted ill give it a try and let you know soon
     
  4. crshocks

    crshocks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well its showing me as already updated. Is there another update location other than at&t software update? If not rooted phones should be cool. I've been using it all day with no issues but currently I'm running stock with root. Hope this helps!
     
  5. anthony062991

    anthony062991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    87
    Do not take any updates! It will most likely kill your root! I have not been using the device lately, I will try to check it out once everything is back and running..
     
  6. asneeze

    asneeze New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran the update not knowing better before seeing this post. My root still seems ok but, the *983* developer codes no longer seem to work. If you do a master reset would that not reload the old rom image, or download the image from zte and use the t-card update?
     
  7. crshocks

    crshocks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure how to stop it. Like I said it was already done and updated when I checked. I hadn't given permission for the update or anything. Is there an option for auto update so i may take it off? So far so good that I can tell but weather its still rooted ill have to check.

    Anthony, would I be able to run one.one if my phone wasn't rooted? After reading a few post I'm getting confused on what a rooted phone is and isn't. I followed all steps on these forums with success according to the checks given after the rooting process. what else can I use to be sure I'm still rooted?

    thanks
     
  8. asneeze

    asneeze New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    In regards to the update, you can download the t-card upgrade which will downgrade the at&t system update. I think the update contained some patches to the developer codes. Now that I have run the t-card update I am back to pre updated but still rooted phone system where the DEV codes work once again :)
     
  9. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    So does any of this also upgrade from 2.3.4 to 2.3.5 or 6 or is that a separate issue??
     
  10. knoppler

    knoppler Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Separate issue.
     
  11. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    So then is there any way to upgrade to 2.3.5 or 6?? Or will that void warentee.
     
  12. UTPWD

    UTPWD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm in the process of researching this same ?
     
  13. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, let us know what you find.
     
  14. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    So UTPWD did you ever figure out how to upgrade to 2.3.6.?
     
  15. Russ71

    Russ71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just had a forced update a couple days ago, and saw this thread heading. The carrier "pushed" CIQ into the phone. If rooted, it doesn't unroot, but, the dialer code to disable it has to be used after EVERY reboot. I just removed the files pertaining to CIQ with ES.
     
  16. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool but are you still on 2.3.4 or did the update make you go to 2.3.5 or 2.3.6..
     
  17. Russ71

    Russ71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    24

    When I'm in TiBU making app backups or doing anything else, the system apps vary from 2.3.4 to 2.3.6. Mainly the Google apps are higher. I rooted differently than most on this forum and couldn't be positive if that would make a difference. If the kernel has anything to do with it, only 4 other people even have this
    one. Wish I could be of more help with this subject. I'm just not positive how versions update.
     
  18. 0078265317

    0078265317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant version of OS not software. My os is 2.3.4. Would really 2.3.5 or 6 or 7 or whatever is the latest.
     
  19. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    133
    AT&T probably won't support this device, however us devs are... The only 2.3.5 ROMs I know of are the AreaROM releases (still in beta), brohn's VIVO/AT&T mix, and my MH-1.0.1E.
     
  20. hi5five

    hi5five Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    what is the dialer code used for this for att only.
     
  21. Russ71

    Russ71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    24
    *983*7668# that's for getting root after the t-card flash with the at&t avail z990.
     
  22. hi5five

    hi5five Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    I see I think is way blocked on the 2.3.5 why i skip try it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...