[AT&T] Wifi Tether - Rooted

Last Updated:

1. jconway23

jconway23 Well-Known Member

Hey All,
    Samsung Galaxy S3 (i747) user here. Rooted my phone to use Wifi Tether. Installs no problem followed all the directions. Even launches fine. However I tried connecting me Nexus 7 to my phone and nothing. Even tried a laptop. It would appear that the SSID isn't broadcasting but I don't see any option to turn it off or on.

Anyone get this to work? I'm on At&T as well.

2. mrhomiec

mrhomiec Well-Known Member

what ROM are you using?

some custom ROMs have a built in WiFi tether, and an app isn't necessary.
  3. jconway23

All stock still. Just ran the root this morning while here at work. To be honest I am new to Android(root). Was an Iphone user for a long time. However I am a PC tech and have knowledge about technology. LoL But I'm guessing I did something wrong or it simply does not work on AT&T. I have an unlimited plan as well. Grandfather'd in.

My plan was to read up on the different roms and such today. But I got busy here at work. Any help is greatly appreciated.
  4. beerdrinker

beerdrinker Member

I am having the exact same problem.

I did a search and posted in the Sprint subforum (didn't realize I was in that subforum), so I'll repost here since it is the AT&T subforum:

I am in the same boat as the OP. I rooted my phone specifically to use wifi tether and it doesn't work. I rooted the phone using InfernoByrd1's YouTube video instructions (here: How to Root Samsung Galaxy S3 AT&T/Sprint/T-Mobile/Rogers - YouTube).