• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Att Captivate for Dummies (that would be me)

jas2k9

Jul 27, 2010
Ok. I am taking my early? made Captivate under the 30 day trial tomorrow. Unless I waiver again, I will try another Captivate.

So, this time - who can tell me what are the 'must have apps'.

What is a widget, how does it work, why do I need them, how do I create or turn them on?

What can I do to not have horror stories of burned MB usage when sleeping (other thread).

What else - what app most closely resembles itunes so I can more easily move music, photos, etc. from my PC to the phone.

All that stuff.

I am not a techie or a phone afixianado, I am coming from a first gen ipod touch, and a motorola razr - so simple english helps me a lot, I want this phone to be 'it' I don't want to go iphone, but frankly at this stage, with my background, the iphone seems more polished and much less risky.

Thanks!

Widgets, if you look at the "post your home screen thread" are the clocks, weather, music, pandora radio, facebook, etc.. application that are on your home screen. you can delete them by pressing on them and moving them to the bottom of the screen. you get new ones by downloading them via the android market, alot of the apps have widgets with them.

to save data, dont have your widgets do auto updating, mine auto update by i am connected to wifi 90% of the time so it does not use my data. you can get 3g watchdog and juice defender via the android market, 3g watchdog tells you how much data you have used, juice defender if set correctly will not allow data to be sent from your phone while it is locked so that helps save it also.

the stock music player is easy to navigate, i like it best personally but there are many you can download. wikitune, mixzing, music player are some that others use but really its personal choice. i think the default one looks and works quite well.