Attempting First Root... Failed After Step 18


Last Updated:

  1. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got stuck on Step: 18...

    It says:

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    # su
    su
    # cd /sdcard/
    cd /sdcard/
    # flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
    flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
    flash_image: not found
    #

    Any ideas? The flash image is in the tools folder.

    Help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sounds like you may not have the command "flash_image" on your phone. You said this is your first attempt at rooting. What was the phone's state prior - was it factory?
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    The image shouldn't be in the tools folder. It needs to be on your SD card. It does not go in any folder, just put the recovery image on your SD card.
     
  4. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok, thanks. I was just following what the guide stated:

    Step 3: Download the Hero recovery image from 4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img. Place this file in C:\android-sdk-windows\tools as well.




    I just opened up the sdcard, and the flash image is on my sdcard, but Im still getting the flash_image: not found
     
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    You didn't follow the guide entirely then, or you messed up along the way. That img does start in the tools folder, then you use adb to push the file to the SD card. Sometimes the push fails (as stated in the guide) and you can simply put the img on the SD card.
     
  6. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed every step exactly... guess rooting isn't for me :(

    Stock I shall stay.
     
  7. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    But he is getting the error message that "flash_image" is not found, suggesting that the command, not the recovery image file, is missing.
     
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    Make sure your SD card is NOT mounted and that USB Debugging is enabled.
     
  9. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    My sdcard is NOT mounted and USB Debugging IS enabled. I keep getting the same message...

    flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.5.2.img
    flash -image: not found
    #

    I've been trying all day, followed every step to the letter. i checked to make sure the .img file is on my sdcard, which it is, so I have no clue whats happening.

    Everything goes smoothly until this point.

    I give up...
     
  10. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    It sounds like that the "flash_image" command is not on your phone, at least not in the correct location /system/bin .

    You never said whether you started this process with the factory ROM or you had done something else prior. That is important.
     
  11. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Jero, don't give up. We will help you as much as we can. Let's start at the beginning. Do you have a Sprint CDMA Hero? Are you starting from stock?

    If the above answer is yes to both of these and you are still having problems, I would suggest trying the new Recovery Image (1.6.2 I believe). There is a link to it in the guide. Sometimes people have issues with certain recovery images. If you want you can try the 1.6.x version or the 1.2.3 version. Let us know as much detail as you can. If you are able to take a screen shot of your command prompt, host it somewhere (like photobucket) then link it here, we can hopefully help you out more. I'm doubting the "flash_image" command isn't working as you have stated you have already gotten this far using adb. If the adb were not installed (which is what the flash_image command is run from) you would not have gotten as far as you have.
     
    Jero likes this.
  12. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm running that 2.1 leak.

    Heres a screenshot:


    [​IMG]


    Thanks for all the help thus far guys, I appreciate it.
     
  13. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4


    Ta-da! The 2.1 RUU leak doesn't have the "flash_image" command in it.

    You have to locate the file somewhere (google it), push it to the phone's /system/bin , change file permissions, and then root again.
     
  14. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am pretty sure that the "flash_image" has to be run from within the phone. After all, it is not and .exe file executable from a Windows command line.
     
  15. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Jero likes this.
  16. Jero

    Jero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    After I had all the difficulties yesterday trying to root, I finally made it! Woot!

    I'm running the Fresh 2.0d currently. So far I like it, except theres still some bloatware I dont want (Sprint Football, Peep, IM, and Google Talk) and I noticed theres some stuff I did want thats not on here. (Sprint TV)

    So now my research will begin of how to get rid of those, plus add a few...

    Just wanted to say thanks to you guys who helped me out.

    Cheers!
     
  17. bill t

    bill t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Glad you got it working. It can be fun (and addicting) to muck around with the phone.

    I know nothing about unix and shells, but I think that once you launch an adb shell on the computer, further commands are executed from the attached device (Hero in this case), and these commands must be in its system/bin folder.

    My best guess anyways.
     
  18. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    Just curious, but why did you even use that 2.1 leaked RUU? a bone stock 1.5 Hero is a breeze to root and from there its a simple wipe and flash of Fresh 2.0d or DC 2.0.8 or any other ROM. Honestly, that leaked RUU has caused more headaches than it has been worth.
     

Share This Page

Loading...