Attn: Leakers (OTA'd or not) and 1.5 > OTA'ers)General


Last Updated:

  1. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    **************** THANKS to all who helped with this thread. All the information was collected, and special thanks to ssgtob1 for being brave and testing the Root PB00IMG.zip to prove that it will allow an update over a 1.5 > OTA phone *****************

    Again, this is NOT something that will help LEAKERS. Sorry! We're working on it!




    I need information.


    Someone who went 1.5 to OTA:

    What's your hboot version? Check by booting up the phone in HBOOT with Volume Down + Power (try not to have a PB00IMG.zip sitting on your SD card). You can pull your battery and start your phone back up normally once you get the version number.

    Read the version number at the top. May be 2.40...... something

    Someone with leak v1, v2, or v3, who HAVE accepted the OTA

    What is your HBOOT version?

    Someone with leak v1, leak v3 that HAVEN'T gone OTA:

    What is your HBOOT version?

    Thank you ahead of time. This is important in understanding something about how the OTA was done and whether it is possible for 1.5 > OTA people to get root, among other things.

    -Paul
     

    Advertisement
  2. xtreme35967

    xtreme35967 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Leak V1 Here. 1.49
     
    pkopalek likes this.
  3. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Leak v3 1.49.0000
     
    pkopalek likes this.
  4. tereg

    tereg Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    21
    Using leak v1: 1.49.0000
     
  5. wildtouch83

    wildtouch83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    24
    leak v3...hboot 1.49.0000
     
  6. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Thank you.

    Now I want someone who had 1.5 that went OTA.

    That's the key one right there.

    It LOOKS like OTA doesn't change your HBOOT.

    This means that if you have leak v1 v2 or v3, GO AHEAD and OTA. It won't affect your chances for Rooting.

    It just updates a whole bunch of files.

    But still, someone with 1.5 who got the OTA - what's your hboot? I bet it's what it was when you got the phone. Just checking.
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    the only real difference there MIGHT be is how your phone shows on verizons system.

    you see, if you look up my MEID on verizons system it still shows I am running 1.5...doing the leak did not update that.

    "my guy" at verizon, who is very trustworthy, is wanting to test to see if the OTA updates this in the system.

    that said, if you got the OTA, and trust me, send me your MEID so we can see if it updates your profile in the system....

    i understand completely peoples hesitation to share something like that but i assure you there will be nu funny business.
     
  8. dcfan99

    dcfan99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    13
    leak v3 with no OTA. hboot 1.49.0000
     
  9. nPong

    nPong Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do i check what my hboot is?
     
  10. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    You don't need to do this at this point unless you have 1.5 OTA updated. That's what I'm looking for. Every leak seems to be on 1.49.0000.

    Turn off your phone. Hold VOLUME DOWN when you turn it back on.

    Read the version number at the top. (that's the number I'm looking for)

    Pull the battery to turn it off, then put the battery back and turn your phone on normally.


    caddyman:

    The point is that I believe that this DOESN'T upgrade your hboot at all. So people who went from 1.5 to OTA can still flash the Root PB00IMG.zip.

    in other words, upgrading to OTA from 1.5 will NOT stop you from getting Root.

    I want to make sure that my theory is correct. The file does NOT look like it upgrades your hboot. I want to confirm that.
     
  11. bkratzer83

    bkratzer83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    8
    1.49 v3
     
  12. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    If your theory is correct then all those on Leaks that want to install the official software when made available at pcdphones.com won't be able to install it. Not that I care because leak 3 seems pretty official to me. :D
     
  13. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    If that is the case, then great for those who didn't upgrade to a leaked version. For the rest of us, it just continues to suck! :(
     
  14. nPong

    nPong Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    im still 1.5, once i get the OTA update, I will check and let you all know.

    BTW, I am at 1.47 with 1.5
     
  15. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117

    Thank you, sir. That would be amazing.

    If you're still at 1.47, you can probably root.
    I hope.
     
  16. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    if this is true could we root now, all leakers....i am not understanding what you are saying. if hboot is the same for 1.5 (which is rooted) and 2.1 v1, v2, v3, and ota, then....how can we not root now? like 1.5
     
  17. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    Leakers have an HBOOT of 1.49, while stock 1.5ers have an HBOOT of 1.47. The leaks changed the HBOOT. So, if one of those who has successfully updated to the "official" OTA checks their HBOOT, we will know for sure. But, like many of us expect, the "official" OTA is v3, and their HBOOT will be changed to 1.49.
     
  18. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    OOOOOO i missed that part...makes sense...thanks dude.
     
  19. nPong

    nPong Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Right, in other words if you upgraded to 2.1 with a PB00IMG.zip (one of the leaks), it upgraded your HBOOT to 1.49.0000 (higher than the root 2.1 pb00img.zip, and higher than the 1.5 hboot version). So since HBOOT upgraded with the leaks, you can't get root (because the hboot version in the leaks is higher than the root's hboot version).

    If you upgraded to 2.1 via the OTA, (in theory), your HBOOT is still 1.47. Which means you could still, AFTER OTA, run the Root PB00IMG.zip.

    To re-iterate, this is not a way for Leakers to get Root. This is to find out if 1.5'ers who upgrade via OTA can have Root. My theory is yes. This thread is part of the formula to figure that out.

    The caveat is that the HBOOT version may or may not (I don't think we've determined) read its version from radio.img, and the new OTA DOES flash a new Radio.img.

    If it doesn't read it from Radio.img, then the 1.5 >OTA people may well be able to Root. That's good news for the future of Eris users, but not for leakers. If Radio.img DOES 'upgrade' the HBOOT, then we're out of luck for 1.5>OTA'ers as well. We shall see.

    On a side note, an exploit that was found last night is being explored today. Will be posted if it yields any results.
     
  21. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    You can't check your HBOOT by looking in the settings of your phone. YOu have to power it off, then hold Volume Down while pushing the power button to turn it on.
     
  22. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    I was on 1.46 with stock 1.5
    Just finishing up the manual update of OTA 2.1 I will report if it is different shortly.
     
  23. arothrock

    arothrock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    75
    Hey all - my hboot is 1.47. Went from 1.5 to 2.1 OTA (manual install)

    It was 1.47 at 1.5, and still is 1.47 at 2.1.
     
    pkopalek likes this.
  24. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    I still question whether people with the OTA can still root because many on v3 tried to go back to v2 and it wouldn't let them downgrade because the software version was lower. I suspect that this will remain true, but it's still worth a shot.
     
  25. ssgtob1

    ssgtob1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    HBOOT 1.47 1.5---->OTA (manual install)
     
    pkopalek likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...