Auto Backlight or Auto Brightness?


Last Updated:

  1. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Are these the same? I have searched the forum, and can't seem to find the answer. I don't find any "auto brightness" setting in the settings menu on the Hero. I have auto backlight unchecked. What exactly does this do? Is this the screen dimming? Sorry, I am confused. Uh oh! Must be a senior moment!

    While I am showing off photos I have on my phone, the screen dims...how do I keep this from happening?

    Also, relating to photos..when I go to "Albums", I have 4 folders listed...Camera Shots, All Photos, etc. When I take a pictures with the phone camera, they seems to be in both folders. Why?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. JB007

    JB007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    auto brightness will increase the brightness depending on how bright it is where you are....the dimming the you experience while showing your pictures is a differnt setting called screen timeout which can be set at watever u want, the pictures in 2 folders is still unknown to me why they aprear in both places
     
  3. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    The seperation with two folders is a usability feature. All photos may be downloads from the web, picture mail photos, doodlings from a paint app and camera shots. If you just want to view photos taken from your camera would you want to view all the other ones? I believe it is there for convenience...
     
  4. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    Auto brightness like stated, will change the brightness of your screen depending on light around you (bright during daytime outdoors, dim for low light situations)

    I thought the phone had an issue when I first got it, but found that setting and turned it off. It seemed to flicker and go bright/dim even when i didnt move into a different lighting, was quite annoying, I recommend not using it.
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I also disabled auto backlight and watched my battery last longer as I have my brightness set halfway between the lowest and middle setting. This doesn't bother me in any lighting situations and i'm considering sliding it down just a fuzz more.
     
  6. slowmotion

    slowmotion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know an app that will provide a widget to "full-bright" your display? Like a toggle to go between your current brightness setting and fullbright?

    it would be useful for apps like Keyring that almost require the screen to be at max brightness.

    i know there is "Fastbright", which is exactly what i want, but the author states it is for "Cupcake only". anyone tried it on the Hero?

    thanks.
     
  7. mojo_droid

    mojo_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out Dimmer Lite, it will let you set 5 points to the brightness level you want and toggle back and forth between them
     
  8. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22

    i believe android 1.5 (what the sprint here is running unless you flashed a diff rom) is cupcake
    1.6 is donut and 2.0 2.0.1 and 2.1 are all enclair and froyo still dont have a number to it yet
     
  9. quicksite

    quicksite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really -- it works on the Hero? I have a GSM Hero and not one of the widgets or apps in Android market will work on my phone... and yes, I have "auto-brightness" turned off. Every single widget/app will correctly display the dim settings while within the widget control, but once clicking off of it and back Home, or to an app, that setting is overridden by whatever the system setting level of brightness is. i have yet to find one exception to this behavior.

    Buit okay, I will try Dimmer Lite and see if it works on a GSM Hero.
     
  10. quicksite

    quicksite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    still seeking a reply and answer... thank you
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    ^ I have yet to find one that works every time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...