Auto Correction for Physical Keyboard


Last Updated:

  1. nnklem

    nnklem Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all,

    I apologize if this has already been asked. I tried searching and did not find anything. Is there an app that allows for the built-in auto-correction feature of the soft KB to be used on the physical keyboard?

    Is this even a possibility?

    Thanks.

    Big Nate
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaveK

    DaveK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've heard, there's no way to activate auto-correction while using the physical keyboard, which is why I don't use that keyboard at all. This was a pretty big oversight, and has been mentioned in some reviews.

    I'm not sure if this could be addressed with a software patch, but I wouldn't bet on it.

    Dave
     
  3. Dabrador

    Dabrador Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    22
    Playing devil's advocate...

    When you type on a PC with a keyboard, there is no auto-complete/correction is there?
     
  4. DaveK

    DaveK New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but a PC keyboard is not 1" X 4".
     
  5. Dabrador

    Dabrador Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    22
    Good point. As I use the physical keyboard more, I've found that I'm getting faster by just completing the words with the keyboard.
     
  6. Snowman

    Snowman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just got my Droid yesterday and since so many people were complaining about the keyboard I came in thinking it was crap, but I actually like it. I can text decently fast but I'm not to the point where I can text without looking at the keyboard.
     
  7. russmd

    russmd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's not supposed to autocorrect, then why is there a setting for Autoreplace-correct mistyped words- in the physical keyboard menu settings? Mine does not autocorrect anything. It has to be a glitch.
     
  8. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    It does less autocorrecting than the virtual but it should at least be changing 'i' to I and 'im' to I'm, I've seen it correct some spelling before to but I can't (another correction) seem to remember those words.
     
  9. Roroco

    Roroco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    I don't mind the physical keyboard not having auto-complete, but the lack of a spell check in the email app is a bit of an oversight.
     
  10. JackT

    JackT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7

Share This Page

Loading...