Auto Rotate not Working?


Last Updated:

  1. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    the auto rotate function on my Hero (T-mobile g2 touch) has stopped working, tried ticking and unticking the box in settings, tried the setting also in handcent to no avail.

    Any ideas on fixing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hrochnick

    Hrochnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had that problem not long after I bought my Hero in October, HTC's advice was:

    "To help the screen rotation, try to tap the back of the device after you flipped it."

    Which to be honest, didn't really help much. What did help was to kill any running apps that can use the feature, mail, internet etc. After doing that it would work again. Bit of a pain though.

    Luckily and oddly for me, about a week after the advice from HTC it started working again properly on it's own without any help from me and has done ever since. Most odd.

    Edit - Could also try recalibrating the G Sensor thing...
     
  3. kicoi

    kicoi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I'm a newbie of this 4rum. Recently i got the same problem with my hero, it sometime disappears the Gsensor function, I think so. Due to it's automatically unable to change horizontal interface in sms, web browser, picture performance. Although I've tried to adjust Gsensor calibration, nothing went on at all. After that, I did reset factory, losed all data, it returned initially. everything was ok. however, it just meet again now [​IMG]. I've tested HTC advice above, nothing at all. So kindly let me know the most effective solution. thanks in advance
     
  4. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried re-calibrating G sensor, tapping the back, pwr off / on nothing yet?
    Have not tried factory reset yet? need to backup first.

    thanks for the replies up to now, any other ideas?
     
  5. beamer

    beamer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to set two checkmarks. Both for orientation and animation (just below orientation). Then it works. I saw that on youtube. A 'howto set rotation on hero'. Make a search, maybe. Or just try this.
     
  6. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Beamer, But both boxes ticked already. Tried unticking, and re-ticking with NO Joy :(
     
  7. GordonEndersby

    GordonEndersby Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    My autorotate stopped working the other evening.
    I thought I had broken my phone.
    Next day I did a bit of trawling the forums for ideas and saw a post about the magnets on some phone cases.
    Took my phone out of its case and the autorotate worked.

    I had been folding the top of the case behind the phone while I was using it and the magentic catch of the case was interfering with the sensor.

    Any help?

    Gordon
     
  8. kicoi

    kicoi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been trying all before i saw ur post. Only factory_reset is effective but it's so inconvenient. So I think we gotta find out the reason better, any other solutions & judgements in this case?
     
  9. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Bingo! By Jove you've got it.

    Never made the connection about my new case but it's exactly that.

    Now then, where do I buy press studs from :cool:
     
  10. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    3
    Now begs the next question, If a magnet affects rhe phone's auto rotate function, What else will it affect?:confused:
     
  11. GordonEndersby

    GordonEndersby Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    The compass at least.
    The fix Ive heard off is for velcro dots stuck in place after youve removed the magnet from the case.

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...