Auto switch from wifi to 3g and visa versaSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Keshya

    Keshya New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I get my phone to auto switch between wifi and 3g? Is it possible?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    It does it automatically. If you leave both WiFi and Mobile Data enabled, it'll switch to wifi whenever a known wifi router is in range. When out of range, it'll use 3G.
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    What do you mean? If WiFi is on, if it connects that will take priority. If you leave WiFi area, you will be on 3g.

    What other variables would you want to employ?
     
  4. Keshya

    Keshya New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't do this. I am using wifi and the modem is freezing. When this happens my phone tells me I'm not connected to the internet and won't load pages. I have to tar the wifi off and then 3g kicks in.
     
  5. rfurman24

    rfurman24 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Verizon S3 is doing this. I have to manually turn off the WIFI for the the 3G to kick in. Did you figure anything out.
     
  6. AndroidxGuy

    AndroidxGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    42
    The Sprint GS3 comes with the sprint connections optimizer and during the 3 days that I used it switched between 3g and WiFi automatically. I have since disabled it because the occasional pop up annoyed me LOL.
     
  7. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    If it's your modem that's freezing, then the phone is still connected to your router, so it doesn't know that it can't connect to the internet. That's why you have to turn off wifi.

    Keep wifi on and walk out of range of your router to see if it will auto connect to 3g/4g.
     
  8. rfurman24

    rfurman24 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I left the house and left WiFi on and it switched to 3g without a hitch. I don't know what is going on.
     
  9. shivram100

    shivram100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Install Juice Defender Ultimate, and you can configure to switch on wifi when you are in range of your preferred network.
     
  10. rfurman24

    rfurman24 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spoke to spoon. My connectivity issue is getting worse. It no longer matters if Wi-Fi is on or not. It tried the sim card trick to no avail.
     
  11. prakashranka

    prakashranka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar issue l, when my mobile data and wifi both are enable the wifi doesn't get connected, only mobile data works and if I disable my mobile data my wifi works. Can someone Pls advise me what is going on.

    Thank you
     

Share This Page

Loading...