Available Ram?


Last Updated:

  1. Geeb

    Geeb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I was wondering what was everyone else seeing in
    terms of available ram when all apps are closed? I usually hover around 90 to 100 ram available out of the total 325. Is this typical? Thanks! After restarting the phones and running task killer I am now showing 100-140+ ram available!
     

    Advertisement
  2. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    Seems about right to me...

    I'm curious, too, if anyone knows if the Android 2.1 OS can see/address all 384MB of RAM or if we'll see an improvement there when Froyo rolls around?
     
  3. Geeb

    Geeb Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive been experimenting with downloading apps, it seems that once an app is installed, ram is being use EVEN when the newly installed app is not running like some sort of memory leak, But rebooting the phone and running task killer brings the available ram WAY back up.
     
  4. CureMS

    CureMS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    20
  5. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    The Captivate squeezes out 336MB to the Fascinates 325MB. But both phones boast 512MB.

    Very interesting article here.

    How much RAM does the Fascinate REALLY have?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Droidable

    Droidable Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    If i kill everything im around 120-130 but usually operating between 50-80.
     
  7. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    For all of you, NEVER use the task killer.
    Android OS manages memory on its own.
    Letting task killer kill apps may create problem.
    Free memory = WASTED memory
    Used memory = reserved for caching.
    When you back out of apps properly, they are put in sleep mode.
    NO NEED to kill the apps.
    Hey MOD, can we get a sticky on proper memory management?
     
  8. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    The Fascinate has an onboard task manager. That is what everyone is referring too here. If this were an Application thread, i could see a MOD wanting to post a sticky. However, this is not a discussion on task managers.
     
  9. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    I guess I missed that part.
    I was simply pointing out the fact that how people get worried when they see their memory filled up and wanting to kill apps when in fact those apps are sleeping.
    I have not used anything earlier than 2.1, was the memory management not as good back then? I ask because ATK has been very popular and people are only now noticing that you really don't need it, in fact it does more harm.
     
  10. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Right. I totally understand why you were giving the heads up. Everyone here was comparing when you end all tasks on the onboard task manager. It gives you a brief summary of remaining RAM. Thus, the confusion on why it states 512MB on spec sheets, but the phone only shows us 325MB.
     
  11. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Yes. Before 2.1, there were memory leak issues. Task killers were more than necessary. Now, 2.1 does a decent job and 2.2 does a tremendous job.
     
    ghdtpdna likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...