Available space warningGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was getting a warning that I was low on internal available space. I have emptied caches and remove a bunch of old email stuff, but it is still relatively low- 16 MB.

    Is this normal?

    What readings are you getting?

    Is there a way to download apps or any other space using data to the SD card?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ithejdi

    ithejdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have 93mb available, but I'm kind of a neat freak. I don't keep old texts/emails and if I don't use an app once a week it's deleted.
     
  3. willdogs

    willdogs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    211
    x2
     
  4. Peaser

    Peaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am pretty good about deleting apps and texts, cache, etc. but my phone seems to be consistently at 37% now (60 MB). It was as low as 32% until I deleted some apps. What else is taking up so much memory? I don't have that many apps installed, it worries me that there is a real limited to the number of apps you can have on here if you can put them on the SD card.
     
  5. jpgoggin

    jpgoggin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had 40% free after upgrading to 2.1. Because of the dialer lag issues, I did a factory reset and re-downloaded and re-installed all my apps. I'm now at 66% (106 Mb) free.
     
  6. Peaser

    Peaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8

    I spent so much time setting up the new home screen, settings, etc. I would hate to do a factory reset now! I wonder what other data can safely be deleted that you don't need. I deleted my contact data at one point and then Google restored it perfectly which solved a problem with Facebook contacts. Just wondering what other data we can delete safely....
     
  7. jpgoggin

    jpgoggin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, after I did a factory reset, it did take me a couple hours to get all my apps installed and configured the way I had it before. It really helps that the contacts are synced with google. The phone is much snappier now.
     
  8. ascasc

    ascasc Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this issue about 2 months ago on leak v1. I tried to delete a bunch of messages & apps and it didn't work. Eventually my phone got into an endless loop of turning off and getting to the lock screen and then turning off again. Ended up having to do a factory reset to fix it. Now on leak v3. No issues since then.
     
  9. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    16 MB??? That just seems crazy!...
    I dont think I ever hit anythign below 40MB....

    If you're not on the leak, i highly recommend rooting and getting a rom with Apps2SD.
    Seems like you like having a ton of apps...
    So rooting is definately for you!

    I have over 40 apps installed and have 102 MB internal memory ;)
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I don't have a2sd and with the OTA and 25 apps install I'm at 105mb available memory. :p

    I'm sorry I just cleared my cache, I actually have 112 :D
     
  11. KarateExplosion6

    KarateExplosion6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    21
    Here's what you need to do:

    Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications

    Inside of Manage applications, hit Menu > Sort by size

    This will show you what's killing your memory. I had a similar issue and it turned out that the ZAGAT '10 widget was storing all of its Cache as Data and just CRUSHED me. I had to uninstall then reinstall the application to fix my issue. Now, I still use ZAGAT '10, I just don't use the widget.

    Hope this helps!
     
  12. Neera

    Neera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    43
    Just a quickie question.

    Under SD card & phone phone storage, it gives values for SD card space and the internal phone storage.

    (Mine are 5.43GB available out of 7.39GB and 88.70MB available under Internal phone storage.)


    What is the are the values shown under Settings - Applications - Running Services (all the way at the bottom)?

    Mine are:
    Avail: 22MB+0.00B in 6
    Other: 0.00B in 4
     
  13. lostpilot28

    lostpilot28 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow, I wish I knew what secret you guys were using to get all that memory! I just went to Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications and cleared the cache of just about everything I had.

    I did a factory reset a week ago (using leak v3), and installed 10 apps. I have some background pictures app, Handcent, System Panel, Color Note, Easy Tether, Flixter, Shazam, Speedtest, and Yahoo Droid IM.

    Most don't seem to run unless I execute them, but even after a fresh reboot (then killing anything that starts up that I don't use) I still only have 78 MB free. That will trickle down to about 30 MB before I notice my Eris running slow. So then I go into System Panel and kill unused apps. This brings it back up to around 60 MB before it trickles down again.

    Is there any way to see if an app has a memory leak?? I'm thinking one of my apps has one. Grrr.
     
  14. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    The ota is much lighter than the leaks
     
  15. lostpilot28

    lostpilot28 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL...I think I know what you mean by that...maybe. How is that the case, though, when 98.5% of the posts suggest that leak V3 is the same thing as the 2.1 OTA??

    Aside from my lack of knowledge with all things Android, I'm pretty technically savvy...hence, I would appreciate some clear direction, if you wouldn't mind. I've been considering rooting my phone, but I'm not sure which version to go with.

    My only real objective is to get rid of "junk" apps like the MP3 Store so I have more memory. If I could observe my System Panel never (and I mean NEVER) going under 50 or 60 MB or RAM, I would be happy as a clam in high tide. I just want it to always run fast (like when it has more than 30 MB of RAM) no matter how many apps I run. It'd be great if the OS actually handled unused apps as well as some people think it does. Achieving this relatively small feat would be the only reason I'd root. I don't want to do anything crazy, just free up some RAM.

    Any suggestions?
     
  16. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just posted this in the applications forum, but The Weather Channel app collects a ton of data. There's no way to empty it either. I just got rid of this app and I'm trying Weatherbug instead. I wonder how many other apps collect obscene amounts of data? I know the Facebook for Android does, but a simple logout empties it.
     
  17. lostpilot28

    lostpilot28 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, another LOL. Just opened System Panel to see how it was doing...after my first post an hour and a half ago, I shut off my Eris and rebooted it. After it came up, I went into System Panel, shut down a few apps that run automatically (Color Note, the built in Calendar, the built in Clock, and Easy Tether) and had about 77 MB RAM.

    I then went to the gym. On the drive home, I uninstalled the lame "Backgrounds" app, but I don't think it ever ran without being launched manually. Casually used my phone (voice only) and I'm at 41 MB of RAM. I can't help but think that the Yahoo Droid IM is causing it.

    Either way, are there any apps that really show what's going on at the system level? Or, again, maybe some good advice with a good rooted OS?
     
  18. lostpilot28

    lostpilot28 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, just removed the "Yahoo Messenger" for Droid (by MSN?) app. It seems to have stabilized in the mid 70 MB range for RAM. Much improved. Maybe that app is junk. I'd still like to figure out how you guys get free RAM in the range of 90+!! ;-)
     
  19. Peaser

    Peaser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8


    Me either! I'm at 68 MB and that's after lots of tweaking. I can't seem to get it any higher. I don't have a lot of apps installed. I constantly clear cache, etc. Just curious how many contacts people have. That might eat up a lot of memory.

    One curious thing about battery this morning. I turned on my phone in the same place as I always do, second floor bedroom. Had 2 bars. Did the airplane trick and it went to 1 bar and has stayed there! That's frustrating!
     

Share This Page

Loading...