Avoiding big brother monitoring internet @ work via wireless tetherTips

Last Updated:

1. nbm400

nbm400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

So my setup at work is pretty slick... My network internet connection at work is restricted and monitored as is similar in most corporations.

My technique to avoid the proxy is this...

Plug a USB wireless adapter into the PC, Run a virtual machine with the virtual network adapter pointed to the USB wireless adapter. I run wireless tether on the EVO and boom my PC stays in tact on the corporate network, so email and other network activity works and appears normal and is routed thru the corp LAN, but when I want to browse the web I jump in my VM which is routed thru my EVO.

Wireless tether FTW!

Advertisement
  2. liquidtrance

liquidtrance Member

Neat idea but as a Network Admin I've seen people get fired for less, just be careful :p

nbm400 likes this.
  3. haner

haner Active Member

Just use Putty and setup a socks proxy via SSH to an outside server. Have firefox use the socks proxy and IE use your default network connection. Has worked for many years for me.

4. Rob_A

Rob_A Well-Known Member

I just disable my work LAN and plug the EVO in. They have no clue.

But lately I've just been using my EVO for web browsing because it's so damn good.

5. nbm400

Yeah could just unplug, but I still need access to servers on the LAN to actually do my job. But there are times when my job actually requires me getting to resources that are blocked by the corp proxy server.

I also love that my EVO has better bandwidth than this lousy network.

6. IPvFletch

IPvFletch Well-Known Member

Hey nbm400, this is your boss and yes, I know how to use Kismet! NOW GET BACK TO WORK!! :D

7. htcevolee

htcevolee Well-Known Member