awake time is always 100%


Last Updated:

  1. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    my awake time is always 100%!!!! even when the phone is dimmed and stuff. help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. thegreen

    thegreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    48
    settings> sound & display> screen timeout (bottom of list)
     
  3. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have it on 30 seconds but its still always 100%
     
  4. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    DOwnload and install spare parts from the market, then go to battery history (after installing wait half an hour or so) then select partial wake usage, it will tell you what's keeping your phone awake. The shorter the blue bar, the better. (you'll see what I mean)

    There's an issue for some people; when they use the stock HTC messaging app to send an sms, it activates the dialer which puts the phone into a parital wake lock. So while the screen dims, the phone itself is still awake. If it's that, there's a fix for it.

    IF the thing that's keeping your phone awake ISN'T the dialer, it's something else, a widget or something. For me, spare parts told me it was Android system. I eventually solved it by accident; I had a countdown widget on my homescreen that I removed and found after that my awake time went right down.

    Most convoluted post ever but I hope it helps. Come back when you find out what's keeping your phone in a partial wake lock :)
     
  5. mbach1972

    mbach1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had that same problem the first week with my Hero. It was driving me nuts because my battery life was insanely short. I did tons of research on the web and the previous poster hit it on the head. The HTC messaging app is usually the cuilprit. I downloaded Handcent, problem solved. My battery life increased 4x. Just make sure that after downloading the 3rd party sms app you reboot the phone and you have to send a text after reboot before it works. Dont forget to shut off notifications from the stock sms app too. Good luck!
     
  6. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i shut off the stock messing notaftctions and i installed chompSMS. still 100%.


    i went to spare parts and the most blue bar is "anroid system"
     
  7. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha. I had the same, and it wasn't the messaging app. (Kept chomp though, I like the chap bubbles:D)

    What fixed it for me: I had a countdown widget on my homescreen that was keeping the phone awake. What widgets do yuo have on yours?
     
  8. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    on my home screen i have this

    task manger
    market
    chompsms
    people
    quickuninstall
    voicemail
    camera
    shottgun
    and i have the quick on/off swtich for wifi and gps.


    programs i have that arnt on the homepage but in "all probrams"

    barcode scanner
    dice
    coinflip
    mabilo ringtones
    metal dector
    sound grende
    lightsaber
     
  9. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0

    Any widgets? EG Peep, facebook etc
     
  10. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    no i dont use any of them, for facebook i use like a bookmark i have for it.
     
  11. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok. Well, out of the programs listed there, the ones I HAVEN'T got are

    Dice,
    coinflip,
    mabilo (had it but deleted it, gave me no probs though)
    Quick uninstall


    So, I think one of those others is keeping your phone awake. Hmmm. Do you have mobile data as always on? Also what are your refresh rates for twitter, FB, stocks, weather etc?

    Also, just on the offf chance, after you installed chomp, did you reboot and NOT use the stock messenger app again?
     
  12. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    once i installed chomp i think i did use the stock messenger after it.

    do you have like AIM or MSN so we can talk over that cause i really need help with this.
     
  13. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Restart your phone. If you've got a task manager app, when it's rebooted, use it to kill the message app if it's started up again. Then look and see what else is running. If it's a programme you downloaded, kill it, then leave the phone to 'sleep' for around 5 minutes, then check your awake time. If it's gone down, it was that app, if not, repeat.

    That's all I can suggest right now.
     
  14. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i restarted it and i started up task manger and the only things that are running is

    HTC sense
    task manager.
     
  15. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Let it 'sleep' for a bit then check your awake time. Other than that, I'm officially out of ideas, sorry dude.
     
  16. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    just had it on for 20 minutes and i had it in sleep. awake time was still 100%

    =(
     
  17. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know what to suggest, sorry. Someone else here might have some good suggestions though.
     
  18. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah i really need help with this ASAP cause my battrey dies in like an hour. =(
     
  19. Elpelco

    Elpelco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    An hour? Even with the partial wake lock that's not right. Sounds like a fault.
     
  20. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    just looked at it again

    up time----42 minutes

    awake time---42 minutes


    =( =(
     
  21. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    also on my status bar on the top i have two logos that i have no idea what they are. they are

    ev, with an hour pointing down and one pointing up

    a crosshair with a slash thru it.
     
  22. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    I'm assuming you have the Sprint Hero. Sprint just recently released an OTA update. You should update your phone to this update if you can.

    The EV with arrows is for EVDO, the 3G connection with Sprint. The corsshair with a slash is probably your location service, indicating that it is disabled.
     
  23. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i do have sprint hero and i already have all the updates
     
  24. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    The most recent update, which came out just a couple days ago, addresses the 100% wake time issues created by the Messaging App and their lock screen.

    If your phone is dying within an hour, it sounds like either you have a bad battery or you've installed an app that doesn't let your phone sleep and uses a lot of your phone's resources. Are you sure you haven't installed Folding@Home for Android (joke)?
     
  25. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    well i got to update firmware and theres no updates aviable. two days ago i updated but i sitll have 100% awake.

    =(
     

Share This Page

Loading...