Awesome Rooted Hero, but have a couple questions...


Last Updated:

  1. taarobaap

    taarobaap Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I rooted...AWESOME btw...its like having a new, quicker Hero.
    Rooted with CM6, kernel decad3nc #9.
    So on to the questions:
    1. What is flashing a radio? and if everything is working, do i need to flash my sprint radio?
    2. Also, why do i need setCPU...the phone is already pretty fast and battery life is good.
    3. The only thing is not working is the google voice for my voicemail. It says my carrier doesnt offer this service? Should I just download sprint visual voicemail and flash? Im not a huge fan, but what are my other options?

    Thanks in advanced, and thanks to this forum in general...you guys are a HUGE help!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. taarobaap

    taarobaap Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I flashed setCPU and Sprint VM, and nothing. Dont see them in my program list, and now my Battery Time lite stopped working. Any suggestions?
     
  3. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    if you already have excellent battery life and it's pretty fast..no need to use setCPU, which overclocks your CPU to make it a little faster..but it'll make your phone hot which could be detrimental :(

    you'll have to wipe dalvic cache then flash your nightly, then flash the sprint vm. make sure you're flashing the right vm. here it is in case you aren't.

    xda-developers

    EDIT: be sure you flash your kernal again after you flashed your nightly
     
    taarobaap likes this.
  4. taarobaap

    taarobaap Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is a nightly --pros and cons? WHere do i find the ones for our phones?
    And so ur saying if i do flash a nightly, i should first flash my nightly, flash my kernel, then flash the VM? Also is this the general rule of thumb for flashing things?
     
  5. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
  6. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    no need to flash a new radio if you're already getting pretty good signal.
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Try using Youmail, works great and it's free


     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If you are trying to set google voice, you will have to set it up via your pc. Go into google voice on the computer
     
  9. taarobaap

    taarobaap Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the site, but I cant download the file, and I dont see a place to register.

    And for the nightly, do i just wipe the dalvic and then install? Will I lose anything that I need to reflash?

    Also, just found CM6.1. Safe to flash to this?

    Sorry for all the questions!
     
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Build 101 is a no go but build 99 and before are fine to download, but future nightly builds will be there;)

    If you have previously flashed the CM6, then wiping Davlik cache and cache are the only things you need to wipe. No you won't lose any settings

    CM6.1 is the latest stable build and yes it is safe to flash
     
    taarobaap likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...