Background Data Settings?


Last Updated:

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    if i dont have anything set for auto sync can i turn background data off in accounts and sync settings?..will this affect any other apps if theres no syncing involved?
     

    Advertisement
  2. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1

    The app will notify you it needs to turn it on, and then it's your choice. If nothing notifies you and all is working well then keep it off.
     
  3. shugknight

    shugknight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any new info on this? My battery has been pretty bad. Going from full charge to dead in 15 hours or so. I wanted to see if this might be the problem.

    Any reports to anybody that has turned it off? What exactly is it for?
     
  4. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    I turn GPS, wifi, bluetooth, auto sync all off. And turn em on when I use em. I use the Power widget to quick toggle it on/off.

    If you are using your phone, text, internet, yada yada then I'd say 15hrs is pretty damn good. I kill my battery in like 5-6 hrs if I'm constantly using it. If not I can get through the whole day. But keeping everything off with no usage I'm sure it'll last 2-3 days.

    if youre using the weather channel app, like me, set it to manual location and it'll update temps without needing the GPS. Same for where app. Unless you constantly move cities, I guess.
     
  5. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    same here, 5-6 hrs, i use it a lot! twitter, facebook, gmail, internet, apps etc etc! always using something, i love this phone! i take my charger to work to see how it performs! i am going to buy a car charger for when i dont have a plug!
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    Ya, I bought the Motorola car charger the moto website says is for the droid from some seller on amazon. Paid like 5 bucks. It's in the mail. You want to see shitty battery life use google nav with traffic and satellite layers up like I did. You can almost watch your batter meter drain. Haha
     

Share This Page

Loading...