Backing up apps to SD card ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Quick question. I want to backup my apps and do a factory reset, but I did this one time with my orginal Droid and the apps restored, but they never showed up in the Market as downloaded and I never got updates for them

    Is there any way around this? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    The only way is to purchase Titanium Backup and use Market Doctor but you have to be rooted.
     
    GrandMasterB and Dream like this.
  3. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    That's what I was affraid of.

    So all these people who do factory resets and backup apps dont get there updates huh, how lame! :(
     
  4. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Some apps will prompt you to update when you open them. But yea it's lame.

    Same thing happened to me. I deleted everything and just re-downloaded from market (except for the apps that I don't want updated - like old free versions, etc).
     
    GrandMasterB and Dream like this.
  5. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Thank you very much jamor, much appreciated! You get a "thanks" :)
     
  6. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    You don't need to root in order to do this.

    Just use AppBrain!

    Yes, you technically have to reinstall all the app's again, but at least they are all in one place. Just load it up, hit sync and then "install all". And since they are technically now new installs, you will continue to get updates on them.
     
    Dream likes this.
  7. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    I didnt know you could do this with appbrain, thank you very much kind sir!
     
  8. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    make sure you make a new list on app brain wth all the apps and then choose install list bc app brain will delete them if its not in a list once it syncs
     
    Forza Nightmare likes this.
  9. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Working on it now. Didnt even know appbrain had that option.

    Appbrain is showing that 3 apps have updates; Adobe flash, Amazon MP3 and scanner radio but when I got to the market to update it doesnt show they need to be updated (flash doesnt even show as downloaded). Any ideas?
     
  10. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Just put those on ignore. They are bugged in 2.2 (along with 4-5 others).
     
  11. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Like I said, the only way is to root and use Titanium Backup and Market Doctor.


    App brain does not fix the Market sync/update issue.. at least not for me.
     
  12. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    It's pretty simple actually.

    BEFORE reset:

    Download App Brain app and hit sync all. All your apps will go to a list called "apps on the phone".

    AFTER reset:

    On your PC - Go to appbrain.com and log into your account. You will now see another folder called HTC Droid Incredible. Open your previous Apps On The Phone folder, hit select all, then move them all to the new folder.

    Go to the market and download AppBrain app. Open app, hit sync all and then preform installs.

    Once all of your apps are reloaded, go back and delete the "apps on the phone" list, you don't need it anymore.
     
  13. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    It didn't work for you? :confused:

    It's what I did on my phone and my fiance's and it's working just fine. We still get updates like we always did. It's different than using Astro since it's only a database of your apps, you are still doing a "fresh install" of them after you reset.

    It's no different than using pen and paper to write down all of your app's and then reinstalling them from the market.
     
  14. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761


    Edit:

    Ok so it worked for reinstalling applications fresh, but not if you want to transfer an .apk in which you want it to recognize that you downloaded it in say, June or July to retain free 'grandfathered' rights..

    In that case I use Titanium while rooted and then use Market Doctor so that I can receive updates on a grandfathered app (shazam, nfl mobile, etc..).

    Good to know. I'll use this for apps that I want to reinstall fresh.
     
  15. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Ahh... I see what you mean now. You're right, won't work for that ;)
     
  16. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82

    Ok im trying to do this and im running into some problems.

    First, I sync'd all apps with appbrain before I did the wipe, I see them in the "apps on htc droid incredible" folder. What I dont see is the "previous apps on another" folder.

    Im kind of stuck right now. Any help??
     
  17. Dream

    Dream Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    82
    Ok I think I know what I did wrong. I deleted the "apps on phone" folder on accident. FAIL!

    I only have a folder that says "apps on HTC Droid Incredible".

    Can I still do this?
     
  18. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    thanks for explaining this better bc people mess this part up
     

Share This Page

Loading...