Backing up data before going to Update at the store..Support


Last Updated:

  1. momentoid

    momentoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    62
    Just in case you run into a novice at the Sprint Service center, do the following to backup your data:

    1. Menu > Settings > Data synchronization > Calendar, Contacts

    2. Use SMS Backup or similar app to backup SMS messages to the cloud.

    Additional data backup depends on other apps/data you may have collected on the phone. Please feel free to add to this list.

    << deleted >>
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Astro File Manager can back up apps, and Sprite can back up data, such as SMS, voice mails, etc.
     
  3. e2daric

    e2daric Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the tip.
     
  4. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Unfortunately as of this point, There has not been a single report of a store making a successful update or even having the update software connect with the phone. Anyone considering the update should look in the update thread to see if someone, anyone has had success before attempting the trip to the nearest repair location. Better yet, wait till someone explains how their location got the software to work and bring those instructions with you. I've replaced the OS on my wife's Pre 4 times OTA without a hitch, but they can't get a simple Moment kernel replacement done in store. Pathetic is the only term that comes to mind.
     
  5. raiderep

    raiderep Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am not planning on updating but for those that are I found an app called App Dragon that will compile a list of all apps installed and email it for you. I reset my phone once and the only app the Market saved for me was a pay one...seems the list of free ones I had installed before got lost. Hope that helps....
     
  6. edp

    edp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    28
    i was just gonna ask, is there a way to make sure that all my app dl history gets saved? last time i did a factory reset, i lost all my apps. thanks for the letting me know bout app dragon
     
  7. starkej2

    starkej2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to the Sprint store today, and after waiting on my phone for over an hour, I asked them what was taking so long, and they brought my phone out and said that they didn't have the update in the system yet.

    By the way, one of the Sprint people mentioned that there would be an OTA update within a month...
     
  8. meangene

    meangene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sprint techs are known for being clueless. I once had a "tech" tell me that my phone wasn't working because I installed apps on it. Really? Wow! I consider them to be one step below geek squad (who I also think are mostly clueless).
     
  9. amberb53

    amberb53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    After we do all of this backing up, how do we go about getting it back. I know I can get my contacts from gmail, the apps are in market, but what about the SMS backup. I'd really like to not loose those, and I've back them up using this app, but once everything is wiped, what needs to happen? Sorry if this is a really dumb question, I'm still really new to this who thing.
     
  10. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    You go back into that app and find the restore tool button usually in a tools or hit menu option while you are in that program. For apps I like the app manager from market for files/sd back up--very user friendly...
     
  11. Radical-J

    Radical-J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    App Manager by firefox lets you select all, batch backup(to sd card) and do a batch restore just like that...
     
  12. gblinckmann

    gblinckmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the tip of Astro File Manager. That helps a lot!
     
  13. thenrik

    thenrik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi:

    I assumed that Sprite Backup would backup my apps--it didn't. I wish I would have used either App Manager or Astrid but I didn't. I'm looking at hours of reinstalling after the Sprint Update.

    Backup before you update.

    Tom
     
  14. pdx77

    pdx77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    5
    damn... how many apps do you have?
     
  15. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Can't the Sprint store back-up and restore your contacts and text? When I got my Moment they took it all off my BB and put it on my Moment.
     
  16. Th3sandm4n

    Th3sandm4n Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    The bad thing about Astrid backups is that they don't seem to appear in the Marketplace under "My Downloads", so then I can't readily update them. This is probably because I had to check that box Unknown Sources, to install from the SD card. App Dragon was more up my ally since I want them all to be in the marketplace. I hope at somepoint they fix this and allow the ones you download (not just pay for) persist.
     
  17. Julian_Sprite

    Julian_Sprite Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Tom,

    Did you also try Sprite Mechanic (in release notes of Android Backup)

    Its a free app backup/restore, file browser, and process killer,

    A Sprite Team member

    Julian
     
  18. thenrik

    thenrik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi:

    I just finished restoring all of my apps and bookmarks, more than a hundred. It also took a fair amount of time to re-organize everything in folders.

    I guess it never occurred to me that there was a paid backup program that doesn't backup your programs.

    Sprite backup did restore my contacts, wallpaper, ringtone and desktop. The weather widget didn't survive the restore but it's easily restored by pressing on the desktop and bringing up the same dialog box as folders, choosing widgets instead.

    I'm backing up my apps with App Manager and Sprite Mechanic but of course haven't been able to test out the restore process.

    WaveSecure, the security app, will also backup your SMS, contacts and phone logs.

    Again the GPS is working after the update.

    If anyone does the update and is able to successfully restore their applications via App Manager, Sprite Mechanic or any other app, please let us know on the forum.

    Tom
     
  19. MrGadget256

    MrGadget256 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loaded ASTRO, backed up, also Dragon for a list. Have an appt to do the update tomorrow. Will let you know how it goes.:rolleyes:
     
  20. gblinckmann

    gblinckmann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got the upgrade after backing up my apps with Astro. To be honest, it's less than useful in my opinion. Yes, I was able to reinstall them all very rapidly, but now they don't show up in the Android Marketplace. This means no notification of updates. I'm going to wind up reinstalling everything from the markeplace again, anyway.

    On a good note, Pandora now works and the annoying keyboard lag is gone. It now feels like an 800 MHz system! :)
     
  21. MrGadget256

    MrGadget256 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using the App Dragon to go back to marketplace and download my apps. Then use Astro to back up my data. Will update results.

    Went to my appt. The store said (after my 45 minute wait) first that the tech that knew how to do it wouldn't be in for a few hours. When I pointed out the info on this forum, they came back with the excuse that sprint wasn't updating the phone at this time and there were "problems", when I again referred to the forum, they then said that their cable to backup "all" phones was broken, but I could go to another store. (26 miles away and yes, it was the closest) I have a feeling that the techs in the first store were just idiots :mad:, but the sales rep was nice enough to call the other store and confirm that they could do the upgrade.

    Made it to the second store, again the 45 minute wait, but they were nice, updated the phone with no issues, (they confirmed a few upgrades before me) and I got a clean phone with the new baseband version of cl14. Unfortunately they broke the front piece of my protector cover, offered me a $15 credit since they didn't have any of the official cases in stock. I actually think the ebay one I got just couldn't hold up, the tabs that grip the phone broke off in two places on one side. The back main part is still holding, but probably not for long because I swap batteries all the time.
     
  22. ABH

    ABH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the MyBackUpPro free 30 day deal, and I had the same issue. Apps need to be up-dated, so I had to flush it all and re-install.

    Hopefully future Moment updates won't require complete wipes.
     
  23. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just to contribute my 'post-update' experience:
    Used MyBackUp Pro, but I was a dickfore and, for some reason, only backed up the 'DATA' portion.

    Luckily, had used Astro to back up the applications, then ran MyBackup Pro to restore the Data. So far, I've seen that it restored my aHome and Bettercut settings successfully.

    Handcent settings (lots of customizations that I made) were not restored, however.

    My biggest issue is that only my paid apps showed up in the Marketplace (as many have mentioned). Curious to know if anyone knows a fix for this other than reinstalling everything from within the Marketplace. I figure there's got to be a way since I can still see all of the comments and ratings I've left once I search and find an app to reinstall.
     
  24. amberb53

    amberb53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just finally found a competent tech to do the update and like expected everything is in fact wiped from the phone. What was not expected is that Market does not keep track of your downloads like posted in the original post of this thread. So...be prepared if you don't back them up.
     
  25. decalex

    decalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    16
    I just posted this in the official update forum, but thought I'd put it here too:

    I have a slightly less annoying workaround for the issue of not having any of your Restored apps showing up in My Downloads in the Marketplace post update.

    Go to the Marketplace and download the app: Market Suggest (should be a really cool app once its tweaked).
    Once installed and (slowly) loaded, click on the icon on the top right that says Lists
    Then go to Show My Installed Apps.
    Tap the little Gear on the right of the corresponding app, select for it to open up in the Marketplace, then install over the existing. Next, back out of the Marketplace (dumps you back into Market Suggest) and repeat.
    This is kind of a lame workaround, but I actually got through them pretty quickly, considering I didnt have a written list of what I had installed/restored.
    Good luck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...