Backing Up My Current Rom Before Flashing .... Help Please


Last Updated:

  1. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey guys,

    I have a Galaxy S Vibrant i9000m and was thinking of flashing a new rom. Now if the froyo update for the vibrant EVER gets released I'll need to flash back to my stock rom in order to update my firmware. I already backed up my rom using rom manager, but my question is:
    Will this backup alone be enough to flash back to the stock rom and update to froyo in the future?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    It may not if the kernel is changed when you flash the ROM; most ROM's do flash a new kernel. I suggest you find and download the stock kernel if you choose this route. Even so, it would be better to flash back to stock using Odin really if you want to get an OTA update.

    Are you certain the ROM you wish to flash is compatible with the i9000m? There are some new ROM's out that are meant only for the T-Mobile Vibrant, e.g. Bionix/Bionix Fusion.
     
  3. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    Should have read this earlier. Like you said i installed a rom that was not compatible with my phone and it was a pain to get it back to a compatible one.
     
  4. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Sorry you had to learn the hard way. But hey, you're now familiar with Odin, yes? :D
     
  5. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    yes and I got addicted to it so that I've been flashing all different kinds of roms on my phone now :D it keeps me busy with the phone
     
  6. SLKCop

    SLKCop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar question the OP had. I'm ready to root [actually did it with a different Vibrant already], but how do I backup my current ROM so that I'll always be able to 'go back' if desired?

    Thanks in advance!

    Mike
     
  7. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    your best bet is to find your stock firmware on xda and save it some where so that you can flash back to your stock firmware using odin anytime. I tried backing up my rom using rom manager but after flashing a new rom which was not compatible with my phone, my kernel changed and this made my backup useless. I had no idea what my original firmware was so it took me a while to find it out and then I downloaded on xda and flashed it using odin.
     
    SLKCop likes this.
  8. SLKCop

    SLKCop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I'm curious about how [or what] gets backed up when you do this. I know the last time I flashed back to stock ROM using Odin, all the original apps/icons were present, including the original location on the screens. Will backing up my current ROM include all that when/if I re-flash back?

    Thanks for patience, I'm just getting into this and trying to learn all I can.

    Mike
     
  9. baillou2

    baillou2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    43
    I've reflashed a backup several times and as far as I can tell it puts EVERYTHING back the way it was, right down to my last text message at the moment of backing up. Everyone here is saying the kernel will still remain, but I find it hard to believe that the backup app makes a complete image which ends up being 650 megs or so, but then fails to copy the kernel as well, which is only about 7 megabytes.
     
  10. SLKCop

    SLKCop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, see that's what I'm talkinabout I guess. What do you use to back that up where it includes everything? For some reason I'm getting an error on ROM backup using ROM Manager and when I used Titanium Backup to create an update.zip file it was only about 1mb.

    Mike
     
  11. shaahinjjj

    shaahinjjj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    7
    there is no way to make an image of your current rom, not that I know of at least. Rom Manager does a pretty good job at saving your rom but as long as the kernel is not touched. You can check to see what your current kernel is so that you can download and apply it whenever you want to restore your backup with Rom Manager.
    Your kernel + the backup from Rom Manager = Image of your rom.
    I used Titanium several times and did not like it. I prefer MyBackupPro over that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...