Backing up my ROM

Last Updated:

1. splynncryth

splynncryth New Member This Topic's Starter

I'm new to the world of root. I used the rageagainstthecage method to become one the many now with root piveleges on hs/her Droid.
    I want to back up my ROM before doing any further playing with my new capabilities.
    I don't know if this has been asked before, the information I have found seems to be inolved in previous proceedures to get root access and I don't know what is still applicable if any of it is.
    It looks like I need to use RSD lite to do something with SPRecovery. Will the current version work with 2.2? For that matter, will it overwrite my exsisting ROM (since it appears it will be flashed onto my phone). All the info I have found uses SPReovery as part of the root process. If I do need to flash that onto my phone using RSD lite and I don't need to fear wiping out my ROM, what subset of steps do I need to follow just for SPecovery to allow me to make a ROM backup?

Advertisement
  2. vincentp

vincentp Well-Known Member

You need to have either SPRecovery or Clockwork Recovery installed. Those recovery images have the ability to backup the state of the phone. Installing recoveries will not have any effect on your currently installed ROM, but if you use RSD lite to install an SBF that has a recovery packaged with it, then it will. There should be other available methods (ROM Manager, ADB) of installing recoveries without messing with your current setup, I'm just not familiar with the root method you used.

3. kratos

kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

Get ROM Manager from the market. Then, flash ClockworkMod Recovery. It is the first option once you open ROM Manager. You can also flash SPRecovery, which is located at the bottom of the main list in ROM Manager, it's your choice which one you use. I am partial to ClockworkMod Recovery simply because it is easier to flash ROMs, themes, kernels, basebands, etc.