Backing up with Nandroid?


Last Updated:

  1. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up the JF_Updater, and while I am rc33 rooted, the updater said there is the rc33 1.42 update available. While I would like to update to this, JF recommends backing up with Nandroid. Now, I have not backed up using Nandroid.
    • How easy is it up backup with Nandroid?
    • What are the chances of bricking the phone? Is 1.42 stable enough that I can take the chance without backing up?
    • Should I just wait for jf 1.5?
    Any help and advice would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Nandroid is toooo easy ... just select Alt+b on the Recovery menu ... wait for it to finish (onscreen) DONE !! then reboot

    I also use MyBackupsPro from the market as a second method ...
     
  3. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is good to hear and I will probably do this.

    Thanks a ton.
     
  4. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...I downloaded Nandroid 2.0 and unzipped on my laptop.

    I don't quite get it as I read the instructions. Aside from my rooted g1, what else will I need to do, and how do I execute the backup. Thanks in advance.
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I dont have the Desktop component yet ,,,,

    The backup (data) is performed and generated right on your phone (no connection to PC) ...

    Home+Power ... (when Recovery Menu loads)
    Use the menu option shown ALT+b ( when that completes )
    Reboot and you have finished creating the Backup data set ...
     
  6. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...this is where I am confused. Is Nandroid an app or is already built into the phone.
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Re-Read my previous post ... you said you have rooted your phone before ....

    You had to see this item on the Recovery Menu when you are installing any Build ...

    the Options are:

    ALT-L
    ALT-W
    ALT-S
    ALT-B
    ALT-X

    not necessarily in that exact order ...
     
  8. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I remember all those. I guess what I'm asking if I back up and it is on the phone, and the update bricks the phone, how will I be able to reload if the backup is on the briocked phone. Thanks for taking the time to explain this to me.
     
  9. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...backing up right now. I didn't realize my phone already had nandroid. I'm such an idiot.

    Still, do I need to export any files in case the phone bricks, or will I be able to reload in the recovery mode?
     
  10. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Nandroid backups have everything.

    To restore, you'll be able to boot into recovery (fastboot, actually) mode, attach it to a computer, and restore within a few minutes, (almost) regardless of how badly you bork it prior.
     
  11. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome. So now that I have backed up on the phone and installed 1.42 and it didn't brick, I am safe. There is no need to do anything else. If it crashes, I can restore by plugging into my computer (which I am sure there are more steps) but I can cross that bridge if I ever get there....correct?
     
  12. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, how can I tell that 1.42 is succesfully installed?
     
  13. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yep, that's pretty much it. There's a guide that covers most of it in the Developer 101 section.

    As for the 2nd part, check the About Phone in settings.
     
  14. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firmware 1.1

    Build# Kila-user 1.1 plat-rc33 126986

    Did I screw it up?
     
  15. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    At the bottom of the kernel version, do you see Jesusfreke?
     
  16. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep
     
  17. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Then you're good.
     
  18. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great!!! Thanks
     
  19. samir5421

    samir5421 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do i do the restore using my computer? thanks in advance
     

Share This Page

Loading...