Backup options

Last Updated:

1. Andrewdroid

Andrewdroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Backing up is important to me. Caveat: I'm kind of new in the Android world so take what I say with a grain of salt, and more seasoned people please correct anything I say wrong. This is just how I understand things.

Here's the very ANNOYING thing with Android backups. To get the best backup options you seem to need to modify your phone, both rooting it and sideload enabling it. Only then can the backup tools do the most thorough job. That's pretty silly I think, hopefully in the future people will be able to get full benefits from new backup tools without 'hacking' into the phone.

There seem to be a lot of different backup options that each do slightly different things. Right now I have MyBackup pro, Titanium Backup, and Rom Manager (which installed something that allows me to use Nandroid backups).

Advertisement
  2. Andrewdroid

So do I need to use all 3 backup programs? This seems like such a hassle. I remember I used to have a Sony Cli

3. Andrewdroid

Anyway, reason I'm going on about this stuff is because I'm having the dreaded random shut down issue and will need to get a new Captivate replacement and want it to have all my 'stuff' on it asap.

4. Chromag

Chromag Well-Known Member

I'm no Android developer so I'm sure someone who is can correct me if I'm wrong, but from my understanding, without root privileges an application can't access other applications. It's a security thing. A backup application without root wouldn't be possible due to security reasons.

That being said - I'd love to see a backup app that creates some sort of image of the phone that could be flashed back onto it. Kind of like Odin with the ability to save an image or load one to the phone. I'm not aware of anything like that but it would be useful.

Nandroid looks like it's close - but I'd prefer an actual application you install on your computer to manage and backup/restore images.