Backup that restores everything


Last Updated:

  1. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Do any backup apps restore your phones icon and widgets. I don' want to have to re setup all the apps I have so I want something (if there is something) that can restore a phone to the way it was home screen and all.

    If Mybackup or titanium can do how?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    titanium backup does this if you do a backup then go to batch restore, also if you do a nandroid backup it returns your phone to the exact state it was in.
     
  3. Pacific

    Pacific Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    EDIT:what Prince said^^
    clockwork recovery mod nandroid backup. will take a few minutes.
     
  4. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    is anyone up for a game of basketball?
     
  5. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    As dumb as this sounds how do you get it to do a restore? I see a tab that says backup/restore and I've done a backup but I see anyway to restore.

    I didn't know nandroid did that I thought it just restored the old rom , cool

    Thanks
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    Menu > Batch

    Scroll down to the restore options.
     
  7. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Thanks but which one of those options does what I want?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Jonamerica

    Jonamerica Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    193
    If it's the first time running a backup you'd probably want to run "Backup all user apps + system data."
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    Jon,
    Can you explain the backup/restore options in greater detail? I selected the backup option you suggested when manually backing up for the first time but IDK what to select under the "Schedules" tab. Which overall backup option is the most sensible to choose to auto-backup once per week?

    Which option should a person use in the case of restoration and does the answer change when you are restoring across different Roms?
     
  10. Jonamerica

    Jonamerica Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    193
    I'm no expert in Titanium, but the most reasonable thing to me is to select "Backup all new apps & newer versions" as the weekly option.
     
  11. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nandroid and titanium backup, both also require root in order to use.
     
  12. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Thanks I'm interested in playing with some roms and don't wasn't to spend hours rebuilding the screens. So if I backup this way and restore it will do that?. I ask because I restored using mybackup but it didn't do any screen restores thanks

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    Yeah, that's what I have.

    Piiman,
    To answer your question about restore selection, I'm leaning toward "Restore All Apps With Data". That seems to be the all inclusive option. If you backup All apps + system data, that is what will be restored using "Restore All Apps With Data" option as far as I can tell. Mine currently shows 183 items at both locations.

    I also ran the Market Doctor (paid version) after my first and only restoration attempt the other day. Menu > More > Market Doctor which seemed to indicate no problems with market links.

    As far as I can tell, that pretty much covers all the bases. I'm no expert with Titanium though, that's for damn sure and finding straight forward answers on all the options is very difficult. I've searched the web multiple times and still don't know exactly what I'm doing here so if anybody else has advice I'm all ears.
     
  14. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Thank s I pretty much did that but with mybackup but it didn't to restore the icons to the screen and that lead me to make this thread

    Thanks everyone.

    By the way I can't believe how easy it is the type with swype and I don't even come close to touching the right keys lol

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  15. ssandler

    ssandler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I set up 1 ROM and do the nandroid backup, can i set up another ROM do a backup of that, and then just restore at my own desire and get the full functioning setup?
     
  16. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    Yes, you've hit it on the head. This allows you to somewhat easily "switch" between roms that you like. If you continue with Titanium Backup, you can keep your sms (and other things that will change day to day) up to speed between switching roms. They'll advance when you restore the nandroid and then the Titanium Backup.
     
  17. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    OK well I tried TB batch mode restore for everything+system and it want me to press install-- done or cancel for every F ING APP I have???!!! It wants me to do this for 223 apps! are you kidding me? Am I missing something? Is there a setting to make it automatic?

    I used MyBAckup instead and used the option for restore app+data and then did a second restore and selected Home screen. It took it forever to do that part but it restored them . Yeaaaa
     
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    Yeah man if ur going to do that with titanium you will definitely want the paid version. One touch and ur done.
     
  19. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I
    Ihey im going to buy one of them for sure maybe both.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  20. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    Serious? The paid version ships the tedious "install, done" clickage? Sold.

    From my Incredible Drooooiiiiiid.
     
  21. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    If it's true they may want to point that put to the user. I won't have bought it just for that and I had no idea the paid version gets rid of that.
     
  22. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    Yeah check out this link:
    Titanium Backup for Android ? Official Site

    When looking at the features of free and paid, I'm assuming the difference maker is the "Batch verification of all backups". Not really sure though b/c I went straight to the paid app based off recommendations by some others that said it was way worth it. Also check out the Market Doctor tool that comes with the paid version. I have a feeling that might come in handy one of these days.
     
  23. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153

    I was pretty impressed with mybackup and
    while it has a paid version it did the restore on it's own in the free version. So I don't know what you u get extra on that one either :D I think you can backup to an offsite server but not sure haven't had to to look into it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...