Bad Gumbo?


Last Updated:

  1. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, so I installed that Gumbo kernal about a week ago and ever since my Hero has been locking up a lot. For instance, I go to type a text and have to wait like 10 secs for the keyboard to pop up. Is it possible for something to go wrong when flashing these roms and kernals? I have Fresh installed too. Should I try to re-flash the Gumbo kernal?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yeah, something is up! If you have Fresh 1.1 "and" the Gumbo Kernel....you should be flying. I would reflash Fresh 1.1, then reboot.....then reflash the gumbo kernel, the reboot.

    You might want to invest in SetCPU also....that helps set the speed of your processor.

    Like someone once said here.....

    Fresh 1.1 (Fast)
    + Gumbo Kernel (Faster)
    +Set CPU (Fastest)

    You did get your Kernel from here didn't you?
     
  3. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    I actually have SetCPU installed as well! And yes, I did get the Kernal from that location. I guess I will be re-flashing tonight.

     
  4. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yeah, I was tweaking my phone a little after I put all that goodness on there....and DID something (bad). I am not sure what...but it was all slow and laggy crazy like.

    So I redid Fresh, then the Gumbo, and SetCPU was already on there...and then like magic, it was lightning fast once again. I think I am done tweaking it, lol. For now anyways :D:D:D
     
  5. jhale83

    jhale83 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, thanks. I will give that a try.

     
  6. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've got fresh and Gumbo but not yet SetCPU. Did you really notice a difference? I've had Gumbo for a week now and it's still fast but now I'm starting to notice some slowness again.

    Do you really think SetCPU helps and if so, what settings do you use so I know how to make it work the best? Thanks in advance.
     
  7. rswheaton

    rswheaton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9

    528MHz/160MHz with ondemand selected for the CPU governor. Runs like a CHAMP!
     
  8. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    So you don't experience much lag if any?
     
  9. rswheaton

    rswheaton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9

    No comparison to stock! Phone runs extremely fast.
     
  10. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    You still want to reboot your phone every couple days to keep everything running at its best.
     
  11. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Reboot as in holding down Menu-Home and then Power?
     
  12. lv2bll

    lv2bll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you run set cpu @ 160 your phone will lock up from time to time, once the clock speed gets down to 160 its almost crawling. Make sure at the lowest set cpu is at 245 in ALL profiles especially when using powersave
     
  13. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    What profile do you recommend? Currently, I have it on "Performance"
     
  14. khaag27

    khaag27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    14
    I had mine at 160 and just changed it. It has been locking up so bad lately that I felt like throwing it against the damn wall.

    ill see if this helps me
     
  15. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry to hear that! I had been running at 528/245 ondemand as it was the recommendation of ghbil's here:

    xda-developers - View Single Post - [CDMA KERNEL ROM]Gumbo Kernel beta project + RAM hack

    I then started trying it at 528/160 ondemand to see how much more battery life I could squeeze out and I have not had any problems at all. What were the circumstances of your locking up? Any particular apps or functions you were performing when it locked up?
     
  16. khaag27

    khaag27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    14
    Almost everything. My phone would not call anyone sometimes. I couldn't search the web sometimes. I had a bad lag with calling someone. Now that is enough to piss anyone off lol. And it took forever just to navigate my phone. I hardly use any apps.
     
  17. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Oh heck yes!!!! It makes everything run faster for sure...plus you are setting your CPU to where you want it to run. Fast when using it and slow when it is sleeping/charging overnight!

    This is exactly where I set mine....not at 160 where it has the potential to lock up. I've never had it lock up either!!!

    Hope it is working for you! :):D:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...