Barcode Scanner Apps -- Ones that WORK with EVO?Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Vivid Confusion

    Vivid Confusion New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried a number of different Barcode Scanner apps with my Evo and have run into the same problem with all of them: they keep trying to auto focus and can't seem to capture the barcode. I don't know if this is a problem with the interface between the autofocus on the EVO 8.0 Megapix. camera and the applications or if it is something to do with my lighting; I'm using it indoors with comfortable incandescent lighting, but not bright task lighting and the camera shows the image as fairly red skewed, as if it is a lower light situation.

    Has anyone else had a similar problem? Does anyone have a solution?

    Viv.
     

    Advertisement
  2. InTheRough

    InTheRough Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm using Barcode Scanner and it works well for me. One thing you might try is backing up a little, clean the lens?
     
  3. mistax

    mistax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    do you still have your plastic cover on it?
     
    netdiva42 likes this.
  4. tardmobile

    tardmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    47
    Check this, seriously. If you just barely pulled it out of the box or haven't made a point of taking the back cover off to pull the plastic off of the camera lens you're going to be very frustrated wondering why, despite having an 8MP camera, all of your pictures are terrible.

    edit: to answer your original question: Barcode Scanner
     
    netdiva42 likes this.
  5. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    I had no problems with Barcode Scanner... that's the only one I use on all my 'Droids
     
  6. septro

    septro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    39
    Nah I noticed it too - the autofocus happens a lot in mid to low-light conditions. My advice: try to shoot in as a bright a light as possible and hold the camera very very still with the scan target about 6inches away from the camera lens.
     
  7. seasapart

    seasapart Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes its definitely a lighting issue. In low light it will keep trying to auto focus as i have noticed. In bright light it will scan in seconds. Its all about the lighting you are in. The brighter the better.

    And i am using Barcode Scanner
     
  8. hopalee

    hopalee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    153
    I was having the same problem and getting extremely irritated. Guess I'll try again with better light and further away!
     
  9. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    I've been using Barcode Scanner and ShopSavvy in various lighting conditions and not having any trouble.
     
  10. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    If low light conditions are the problem then try using the app "LED Light". It's a widget that turns on and off your LED flash.
     
    EvoMike, Vivid Confusion and wvuametz like this.
  11. dave01978

    dave01978 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    does anyone have any issues trying to get a barcode of contacts to show with barcode scanner, I tired to share a contact but doesnt pull up names,

    friend has a motorola droid, and he can share right from his contacts as well. Im not sure if i am missing a setting or something?
     
  12. subver

    subver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    if you toggle your camera options, do these transfer to apps that use the camera? i.e. Barcode Scanner, you could adjust the brightness/contrast/ISO maybe?
     
  13. horadin

    horadin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have found barcode scanner to work in any light condition. The trick is to get the phone the right distance away from the bar code that you are trying to scan. I usually start at about 6 inches and work my way further away from that starting point giving it a couple seconds to try and read everytime I move it an inch or two. Usually I get results within about 10 seconds.
     
  14. cj08902

    cj08902 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shop Savy iz the best barcode scanner
     
  15. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    Didn't even know it had that feature! Mine does the same thing, for contacts it shows numbers and no contact pictures. Strange. I'm going to write to the developer.
     
  16. wvuametz

    wvuametz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was having the exact same problem on ShopSavvy AND Barcode Scanner.

    But after downloading "LED Light" from Android Market and throwing it on my screen as a widget (much more convenient), THE SCANS WORKED GREAT!

    It is DEFINITELY all about the lighting.
     
  17. mitch27

    mitch27 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem, until I peeled off the plastic tape that protected the lens. lol
     
  18. Vivid Confusion

    Vivid Confusion New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone that has replied! It has turned out to be the lighting issue. I'm going to download the LED Light app and use that with it in lower lighting.

    Viv.
     
  19. thebrain

    thebrain Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you press menu when in barcode scanner, there is an option to turn on the led lights. it even says it will improve low light scanning.


    Never mind it does not turn on the led. sorry
     
  20. uniquenameEVO

    uniquenameEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    103
    As much as I hate to ask, is the plastic obvious? I don't think mine is on....
     
  21. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Yes it's very obvious. It's a big rectangle piece that's much larger then the little circle lens.
     
    uniquenameEVO likes this.
  22. BlackDynamite

    BlackDynamite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    221
    Adding an option to turn on the LED would be a great addition to the barcode scanner app.

    Heck, for that matter, why can't we turn on the LED light when we shoot videos? Kind of weird for HTC to put a flash on the phone but not allow the video camera to use it...
     
  23. Oridus

    Oridus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    143
    Well the theory is that if you allow these types of led's to stay on, there is a potential for damage.

    __________________________________
    Sent from my HTC EVO using Tapatalk.
     
  24. BlackDynamite

    BlackDynamite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    221
    Well I never had any problem on any of my previous phones. This is the first phone that had an LED that didn't allow me to use it for video.

    What kind of damage does it supposedly do?
     
  25. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    I think it's more of a battery conservation thing. They could have given the option though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...