Barcode scanner to Android marketSupport


Last Updated:

  1. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hey guys, I recently flashed the stock froyo RUU and got everything working flawless except for 1 minor annoyance.

    When I was running 2.1 I used the barcode scanning app to install apps from app brain. It would automatically bring up Android market to install the app if I clicked on "Open Browser" now it literally opens up the web browser which is useless for me. Any suggestions / help?:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. bunnisher

    bunnisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    Strange. This happened to me just yesterday and I'm not rooted.

    I rarely use the QC codes as I'm browsing more on my phone these days instead of the laptop. But I tried using it yesterday and it just opened appbrain instead. I just thought it was a one off and did it the old fashioned way.

    Wonder if something was tinkered with in an update for barcode scanner.
     
  3. DesireMe

    DesireMe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    78
    Have just tried a QR Code with ShopSavvy and it took me direct to the market place.
     
  4. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    19
    yeah it's weird, I might have to try another QR scanner. It was really convenient for me before but kinda useless now if it doesn't launch market place.
     
  5. zeroeight

    zeroeight Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've always been on 2.2 (well, I updated as soon as I got my phone), and in the 10-20 times I've used Barcode Scanner on QR codes, it's taken me to either my actual browser, or the Market. I'm pretty sure it depends on the QR code. Whenever I go to the browser, I just download onto my phone from there and then install (works as well as from the Market, if not better, actually).
     
  6. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah just tried ShopSavvy as well and still brings up the web browser. This is really odd. I found it really useful that it brought up the market but now that functionality is gone :( booooo
     

Share This Page

Loading...