Barnacle WiFi Not Working


Last Updated:

  1. purple_duckk

    purple_duckk Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't get Barnacle to work with my rooted droid or any other WiFi app for that matter. I have kernal 2.6.32.9-g874c292 android-build@apa26#1

    I have tried it with and without Skip wpa_supplicant
    I have tried it with and without USB debugging
    I have tried regular barnacle and Barnacle legacy
    I have turned it on, waited 1,5,10 and 60 minutes and pushed associate

    No matter what I do I can't get it to broadcast. Any help would be appreciated. If someone else has barnacle running please tell me the settings and steps you used to get it running. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. trav473

    trav473 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    134
    Is that a stock kernal and rom? we need more info. have you flashed any roms or kernals sense you rooted the phone? if not, you will need to at least flash a new kernal that has wifi tethering enabled.
     
  3. hikersc

    hikersc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had very good results with Wireless Tether for Root Users (version 2.0.5-pre7) with a 1000 Mhz Slayher (version 1.6) kernel. It is fast, and Access Control and WEP both work. I am using the stock rom (FRG22D) but it is my understanding that the various WiFi tether apps are very kernel sensitive.
     
  4. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    All I did was root my phone using SuperOneClick and install Barnacle, and it works for me. I don't know anything about WHY I would or wouldn't need a new kernel, so I'm not trying to argue with you - just relay my experience.
     
  5. BCool83

    BCool83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a stock kernal and ROM on my Droid X, and am having the same problem as the OP; except I know other devices can connect to the wifi m y phone is broadcasting (my TiVo did it fine, but my laptop only connects Local). Can you elaborate on flashing a new kernal that has wifi tethering enabled please?
     
  6. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    Under setting tick on Skip wpa_supplicant
    This is what worked for me.

    OOps, sorry, didnt see you tried that already.

    I got nuthin.
     
  7. BCool83

    BCool83 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't see that setting on my DX
     
  8. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    38
    While in Barnacle click the menu button on your X. That should bring up settings.
     
  9. joehuddy

    joehuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Go to settings in Barnacle
    2. Make Channel, Channel 6
    3. check skip wpa_supplicant
    4. erase wan and lan names
    5. Start it up and you should be able to tether
     
  10. Scooter70

    Scooter70 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    27
    I never had good luck with Barnicle on my Droid X so now I use Wireless Tether for Root and/or the TBH hack with the 3G Hotspot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...