Baseband Downgrade to .01P the EASY way!!! (update.zip)


Last Updated:

  1. BillyGalbreath

    BillyGalbreath New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    7
    Tired of losing your 3G on the new baseband? Dropping signals and calls all the time since the OTA update? Well here's the solution! The Baseband Downgrade to .01P!!

    1) rename to update.zip

    2) place on root of sdcard

    3) reboot into SPR

    4) choose Install

    5) Allow installation from update.zip

    6) Install

    7) Re-Activate by dialing *228, option 1

    Have fun guys, and remember... BillyGalbreath did it FIRST! ;)



    Baseband Downgrade to .01P - Black Droid Mod
     

    Advertisement
    nano88, obutto, inssane and 3 others like this.
  2. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interesting. Thought the new baseband was suppose to be an IMPROVEMENT over the .01P?
     
  3. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    yeah. i have nothing but great reception and solid 3G with the new baseband. but i have heard of other with issues.
     
  4. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    there are a few versions of the newer baseband out there. which is the recommended one?
     
  5. jackburnt

    jackburnt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    63
    Could this be why I lose my 3G randomly for a day? Then it comes back?

    Highly annoying when it drops since I use GV for my SMSing needs.
     
  6. CalledFollower

    CalledFollower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I know when I'm at home, with the old baseband, I had 2-3 bars 3G. With the new baseband, I only have 1-2 bars of 1X.

    Gonna Try it out.
     
  7. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    its possible. however if this happens to you, try putting the phone in flightmode for a second then turn off flightmode. this will shut down the radio and start it backup and reconnect to your tower.
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    It's possible that the newer baseband can result in lower signal for some users.

    This should remedy their problems.
     
    BillyGalbreath likes this.
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Ok so here is one for you... I've been on the new baseband since it was released... everything was fine until a few days ago, now I notice I've been going into data roaming and my 3G is very spotty... I've re-programmed both normal and roamming and the issue is still there...

    Any ideas?
     
  10. jackburnt

    jackburnt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    63
    I always try that, but it never works. I just have to wait until it comes back.
     
  11. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309

    thats weird. :(
     
  12. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Perfect. I know for fact I am one of the ones that got worse service with the update. Lost my reception in a few different places now, going back to old. Glad I ran across this.
     
  13. snake_fist_gung_fu

    snake_fist_gung_fu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have gained a few bars back by downgrading. Wow so much for a good update. You would think they would have got it right with the time it took to release.
     
  14. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    I just did the downgrade, and my service improved the moment my Droid rebooted. Prior to downgrading, my service had deteriorated substantially since 2.1. I will give a report at the end of today, for whatever it's worth (just my .02) about any real 3G improvements. I used data all day long (Air1, DroidLive, Rhapsody) and almost never have 3G anymore, and if I do it's never for very long.
     
  15. ne0lyfeism

    ne0lyfeism Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    37
    Weird.. I have a solid 5 bars on 3G nearly everywhere with the new baseband. The only thing I've noticed is that on my ride to and from work via the train, there's a specific spot (I want to say .5-1 mile in length) along the ride where I go from full 3G to full 1x - but beyond that, reception has been awesome.

    Then again, I didn't really have any reception issues with the old baseband either..
     
  16. Picaso86

    Picaso86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am downloading this as i type... I hate the new baseband. my reception its so crappy it goes from 3G to 1X almost everytime... thanks for this info :)
     
  17. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    2 questions:

    1. anyone done this with true success and had it work?
    2. can you undo it
     
  18. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    1. Not sure but it doesnt make much sense. Why would verizon upgrade the baseband to something that would give a worse user experience.

    2. You can always reapply the new baseband.
     
  19. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    I'll be able to post my results tomorrow... Prior to updating my baseband, I was able to get a spotty signal in my office (not great, but at least something). Since I upgraded my baseband, I get NO signal in my office. I just "downgraded" so tomorrow will be a real test.

    I'm crossing my fingers...
     
  20. jackburnt

    jackburnt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    63
    I'm eager to hear results.
     
  21. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    Yeah, so am I! I'll know early tomorrow (I'm working from home today). So far it does seem like my 3G signal is more consistent...
     
  22. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Ok, downgraded yesterday.

    Prior to updating to the newest baseband, I never had issues with reception at all. Loved it. Updated well, because it was updating. Newest would be better, or so I thought....

    Anywho, after the newest update, I lost my reception for about a 3 mile stretch of road going to work. I live in the sticks, but we usually have great reception. Downloaded and flashed the "old" update, reception came back in that area, and all is well. No change in battery, my 3G, or anything else. Still works as usual in all other places.

    I am happier with the old.
     
  23. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    Okay... I downgraded my baseband this morning and was out of my office all day for nearly 12 hours.

    I am 100% certain of two things:

    First, the so-called baseband upgrade we got with 2.1 causes BAD data signal.

    Second, the baseband downgrade presented by the original poster COMPLETELY FIXES and ERADICATES the problem!!

    I only got 1xrtt one time the whole entire day after downgrading. Prior to downgrading, I would get 1xrtt almost ALL THE TIME.

    I don't know if all 2.1 updates loaded the new baseband, but I know for a fact mine did, and it destroyed my data signal.

    Did Verizon do this on purpose in order to free up channels on EVDO? Who knows. But what I do know is that MY Droid will be getting great Big Red data coverage and those who don't downgrade their baseband most likely will not.

    I feel like I'm part of an elite community of Droid-geniuses who are blessed with the ability to figure this stuff out and share their solutions with other like-minded (but technically-challenged) comrades like me. I mean, who ever even HEARD of anything called a baseband? The whole idea would never have occurred to me if my life depended on it!
     
  24. EAK128

    EAK128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just downgraded cause I was having some 3G speed issues, was getting 300kb down and 700kb up speeds, also would notice it going down to a crawl at times when downloading updates from market. Now with the old baseband it has jumped to 1200kb down and 800kb up. So so far so good, I'll give it a day or two to see if this holds up.
     
  25. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    Reporting back... I downgraded yesterday and I am now getting a signal again in my office. The signal is spotty, but at least it exists (didn't with the 3P baseband). And, my battery life seems to be much better because my phone isn't searching for signal so much anymore. For me, the downgrade is DEFINITELY a positive!
     

Share This Page

Loading...