• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Basic Android logic

Lurker
Sep 4, 2009
I recently posted this question on phandroid, but i also wanted to get some feedback here. I asked:

So, I am fairly new to the Android world and longing to replace my iPhone with a well made Android device. This may sound like a noob thing to ask, but is it possible given the

Any unlocked GSM android device would work on AT&T's network, however, there are only two devices in the wild that you would get AT&T 3G with. They are both from the Canadian carrier Rodgers. The devices are the HTC Dream and HTC Magic and would be Rodgers branded. You might be able to find something on ebay just make sure to look for the Rodgers versions. If you do not buy one unlocked, you will have to have it unlocked for it to work on AT&T.

Upvote 0
Any unlocked GSM android device would work on AT&T's network, however, there are only two devices in the wild that you would get AT&T 3G with. They are both from the Canadian carrier Rodgers. The devices are the HTC Dream and HTC Magic and would be Rodgers branded. You might be able to find something on ebay just make sure to look for the Rodgers versions. If you do not buy one unlocked, you will have to have it unlocked for it to work on AT&T.
Thank you for the response, I am pretty much holding out on the Xperia X3 Android device. If indeed it will be supprted on the GSM network

Sony Ericsson “Rachael” to launch as Xperia X3; specs revealed : Boy Genius Report

• Display:
    • 4-inches, 800 x 400 pixels
    • Touch Sensitive
  • Network:
    • 2G 850/900/1800/1900 (Quad-Band)
    • 3G: 900/2100 (Dual-Band)
    • HSDPA (10Mbps)
    • HSUPA (2Mbps)
  • Camera:
    • 8.1 megapixels (auto-focus)
    • 8 x Digital Zoom
    • LED Flash
    • Image Stabilization
    • Smile Shutter
    • Face Detection
  • Video:
    • VGA Video Recording
  • Music:
    • Supported formats: MP3, AAC, eAAC+